Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets by J.k. Rowling | Book Review

I realised that I haven’t posted a lot of reviews lately, and I’m sorry. Recently I’ve been sick so I’ve been through a reading slump from the 24th. Plus I’ve got a lot to write, so I’m sorry if I post everyday! ^^’ I did read books but I’ve been too lazy to write reviews, so now that I’m feeling fine, I can write and post them!

Synopsis: Harry Potter can’t wait for his holidays with the dire Dursleys to end. But a small, self-punishing house-elf warns Harry of mortal danger awaiting him at Hogwarts. Returning to the castle nevertheless, Harry hears a rumour about a Chamber of Secrets, holding unknown horrors for wizards of Muggle parentage. Now someone is casting spells that turn people to stone, and a terrible warning is found painted on the wall. The chief suspect – always in the wrong place – is Harry. But something much more terrifying has yet to be unleashed.


Published: July 1998

Number of pages: 384 pages

Edition read and reviewed: Bloomsbury Children, September 2014

Read: 18-20 February

Rating: 😻😻😻😻😻/5 stars


(my little goodreads review)

Review: Another year at Hogwarts! This second book started quite a bit extraordinarily with the apparition of a house-elf warning Harry to not go to the famous school. This is one weird beginning if you ask me!

So I finished this one for the #MugglesReadalong last week. So freaking amazing! 😻😻😻😻😻/5

A post shared by Melanie |🇲🇺 (@datbookishgirl) on

But as always, you are swept from the beginning into the magical world created by Rowling which keeps you on the edge and thirsty for more.

Yet again, I loved being disgusted by the Dursleys! (I think they provide a bad image of muggles in general – my uncle and aunt are both very sweet! 😉 ) Those selfish and grotesque characters did nothing to make me change my opinion about them… Not that I wanted it to change anyway 😉

I knew what was going to happen (having watched the movie) but Rowling still managed to surprise me page after page (thus increasing my deep-rooted belief that books are indeed better than movies). I could not stop myself from reading to know what was next..

I loved the intrigue and mystery better in this volume than in the first one; I thought that it was deeper and better thought of. It made the whole plot more interesting and less obvious, and turned into one heck of a plot twist! (which I would have found more mind blowing if I hadn’t watched the movie first *sigh*0

Harry, Hermione and Ron, they have been amazing as always! Hermione and her life-saving know-it-all behaviour, Ron and his wonderful ability to make me laugh,, and Harry, being HArry, offered me a magical reading day (and afternoon, evening and night :D) that will go as unforgettable.

As to Malfoy, I loved seeing other characters shutting him up while at the same time I feel sorry for the poor guy… It isn’t his fault his father is a lunatic, is it?

I’m so happy I finally got to read this amazing series! The books are so freaking amazing that you won’t regret reading them!

💋💖 Mel

One thought on “Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets by J.k. Rowling | Book Review

Leave a Reply

