Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica | Anime Review

Hello there! I’m sorry I wasn’t active at all recently: I was in a horrible reading slump which was dragging on and on, and that slump made me quite “idealess” about the blog 😥

But I’m here and I’m back, and I thought that this post may also serve as an introduction to a new category: anime review! I’ve been thinking a lot about what I could add to make my blog more diversified.


Recently I’ve been watching two animes, “Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica” and “Fairy Tail”. As I’m not done yet with “Fairy Tail” (I’m on episode 126), I thought that it would be a good idea to talk about “Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica”.

What It Is About
Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica (also known as Puella Magi Madoka Magica) follows a group of female middle school students who choose to become magical girls and must battle surreal enemies called witches. However, they consequently learn of the anguish and perils associated with their newfound roles.

[If ever you have an android device – like me – I recommend you to download the application “UnderAnime”. There is a wide range of animes (unfortunately Naruto, Naruto Shippuden and Sword Art Online are not here) and the episodes load very quickly. Moreover there are no ads which pop up while watching and you can watch as many episodes as you want as no subscription or whatever is required! But if you prefer to watch animes online, there’s Kiss Anime, a site on which you can download the episodes and movies]

My Thoughts About It

I came to know about this particular anime after watching Top 10 Anime Fights in 2014 [link here]. The battle was really “interesting” and the girls were looking so badass that I decided to check it out.

This anime was actually the first I’ve ever watched in the “magical girl” genre, so I really cannot compare it to other popular magical girl animes like “Sailor Moon”. I also did not know what I’d brought myself into but that did not make me back down nevertheless.

I watched the first episode on the very same night after viewing the video (also as a break after a whole day watching Fairy Tail) and my first thought was that “Wow, it’s so weird but it can be relaxing. Plus it is an anime which contain only 12 episodes, so that’ll be done in a day!”

I WAS SO FREAKING WRONG?!

True, the first two episodes were kind of cute, but I thought it was a little boring and the witches were really disturbing. I watched the third episode, hoping for something interesting to happen, AND IT DID!!!

I can’t tell you more without spoiling you but the concept in itself was so dark, twisted and good! I actually loved all of it! The plot was really interesting and filled with twists and events! It made me laugh, scream, cry! I loved Kyoko and the fact that she eats every time made me think about me (hehehe ;)). Each episode was really well thought of and clearly was one of the most original animes that I’ve ever watched (like “Kill la Kill”… I must watch it again 😁;))

The only thing I did not like at all was the main character. I couldn’t like her at all and even though she redeems herself at the end, I thought everyone was badass and amazing BUT her. And the sort-of cat! How I hated him/her/it! How I wish I could strangle it! GAHHHHHHH! 😾

Overall it was a really good anime, and I’m not sorry for watching it! I also watched the third movie and I’ll probably write a review of it later on, but if I had to give it a rating, it would be a strong ⭐⭐⭐.5/5

I hope you like my new category 💕 Do tell me what I think of it! And tell me your views about the anime if ever you watch it! Also, any anime and book suggestions are welcome!

I love you all
💋💖, Mel

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica | Anime Review

Leave a Reply

