Coraline by Neil Gaiman | Book Review

Synopsis: There is something strange about Coraline’s new home. It’s not the mist, or the cat that always seems to be watching her, nor the signs of danger that Miss Spink and Miss Forcible, her new neighbours, read in the tea leaves. It’s the other house – the one behind the old door in the drawing room. Another mother and father with black-button eyes and papery skin are waiting for Coraline to join them there. And they want her to stay with them. For ever. She knows that if she ventures through that door, she may never come back.

Review:

Coraline is my first Neil Gaiman. And I thought it was a great way to get introduced to his style.

This book was unlike everything I’ve ever read before. It has this little “thing” which keeps it unique and original, and I loved it.

His writing was amazing. I know this was intended for a younger audience but there’s something so hauntingly dark and beautiful that you need to read this when you are more… mature.

There’s so much genius behind each word that I don’t have enough words to convey my amazement through this review!

Coraline struck me as a courageous, adventurous and fearless young girl. (I would love to say that I see my younger self in her, but that would’ve been a lie ^^’ ) With such qualities I would love to see her as the heroine of a young adult novel! She would be so badass!

The world itself was beautifully built and intriguing, darn! And that last “kind of epic showdown”! Gosh! I don’t know if the fact that he made it commonplace (sorry, google didn’t have any better translation for the french word “banaliser”) a proof of his genius or simple laziness to make it more… epic ( 😉 kidding)

Anyway, that book was so great, I recommend it to everyone!

Rating: 😻😻😻😻/5

💋💖
Mel

4 thoughts on “Coraline by Neil Gaiman | Book Review

Leave a Reply

