The Talented by Desy Smith | Book Review

~ I would like to thank the author for making me discovering her book. Thanks a lot! ~

 Synopsis: At age 17, Carmel founds herself in a mental institution thanks to an ice dagger, and a woman who apparently isn’t human. After being rescued and arriving at the H.o.T, House of Talents. A house where no one is entirely human. She learns that she’s Talented and has the ability to control Water and Ice.
At the H.o.T, Carmel learns to control her Talent, makes new friends, a few enemies, and begins to fall head over heels for a handsome guy. Who has a few secrets of his own. Carmel begins to realize that many people want her dead because of who she is. However she has no idea why. Can she figure it out or will she die. Look inside to find out.

goodreads | book depository


My Review:

Once I knew what this book was about, I can’t deny that I wasn’t excited, because I was! Fantasy books? Totally my thing! So I rushed to amazon and bought the kindle version (which was free! whoop whoop!) and started reading.

On the whole the book really was interesting and original. The fact that the control of elements was involved made me thought a lot about Naruto and Avatar: The Last Airbender; and how I love these animes! (Avatar does count as an anime… Doesn’t it?) The characters were really well described and visualising them was really easy.

As I mentioned earlier, this was by far one of the most original plot I have ever encountered. The story seems so simple and is yet so rich and complex that it left me wondering about all of the possible aspects in the storyline. It truly was genius.

My favourite character was definitely Flora. She is so fun and bubbly that it was impossible for me not to like her. As for the other characters, I would have like to know more about Ricky because I felt he wasn’t present enough throughout the book. I really liked how the relationship between Carmel and Devon evolved and blossomed into something so cute and deep and typically romantic… *sigh*

I’m sad that the chapters from different POVs only happened at the end because they were fantastically well-written! (especially the two last ones!) I would have loved more chapters from different perspectives, as they add up to the story and give us a better understanding of the other characters. And they were amazing 😉

Also, the main thing I loved is that at the beginning, you are led (well, I was) to believe that certain things are going to happen, and then, as the story progresses… BOOM! That wasn’t it at all! I did not see that coming at all! It totally caught me off guard, and I freaking loved it!!

The only one thing (well, two actually) I didn’t like about the book was

  1. Everything hapens way too quickly.

Or maybe it’s not detailed enough. I’m not saying that the plot was wrong, all I’m saying is that I would have loved more details. Maybe more descriptions, more conversations, more things to stretch the mystery etc… These little things, in my opinion, would have made a better reading experience and it would have made the book more amazing (not that it already isn’t 😉 )

2. The errors.

This is what has made me lower my rating. The fact that there were errors a little everywhere really annoyed me and even sometimes confused me in my reading.

Honestly, I did not expect myself to like The Talented this much, but now that I’m done with this precious here, I cannot wait to know what is going to happen next!

Rating: 3.5 😻 /5

Hope you liked my review 😉

💋💖
Mel

3 thoughts on “The Talented by Desy Smith | Book Review

Leave a Reply

