When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Stirling | Book Review

 Synopsis: “I used to be one of those girls. The kind who loved to deliver bad news. When I colored my hair, I imagined it seeping into my scalp, black dye pooling into my veins.

But that was the old Lacy. Now, when I cast spells, they are always for good.”

16-year-old Lacy believes that magic and science can work side by side. She’s a botanist who knows how to harness the healing power of plants. So when her father dies, Lacy tries to stay with her step-mother in Chico, where her magic is good and healing. She fears the darkness that her real mother, Cheyenne, brings out, stripping away everything that is light and kind.

Yet Cheyenne never stays away for long. Beautiful, bewitching, unstable Cheyenne who will stop at nothing, not even black magic, to keep control of her daughter’s heart. She forces Lacy to accompany her to Sacramento, and before long, the “old” Lacy starts to resurface.

But when Lacy survives a traumatic encounter, she finds herself faced with a choice. Will she use her powers to exact revenge and spiral into the darkness forever? Or will she find the strength to embrace the light?

goodreads | book depository


Review:

I’d like to start off by saying that this book as well was a cover-book-download. Seriously, just look at it… It’s so damn pretty *o* Also I already can’t wait for the paperback to be (hopefully) released next year so that I can finally have a copy of it. Okay, so that was for the little intro. Now about the book.

I can already state that I have never, in my life, read a book like this one. I don’t really where to classify it as it has so many elements: magic, psychology, identity, family… It’s not a contemporary but not a fantasy either. Let’s just say that the categories in which you can classify this book are very… vast.

I loved Stirling’s writing. She is one of those authors who weaves magic with a pen and transports you into her world. Never in my life have I read something so poetic, so touching and wonderful. I am in awe. Truly in awe.

Truthfully, I went into this book thinking it was a young-adult fantasy, with healthy doses of action, adventure and the now typical love-triangle now so common in YA. I was surprised to discover that this book was nothing like what I’d thought it’d be about, but I’m really happy I came to read it, to love it, and to think about it for a long time after my reading.

I really liked Lacy. She’s a girl who is still struggling to make the right decisions and to be a good girl, which proves to be quite complicated for her due to her past. But in the end she proves to be loyal to what she is and more importantly to who she really is. She doesn’t feel obliged, in a way, to behave as expected by her mother. As to Cheyenne, we feel that she wants the daughter she moulded to come out of the body of the sweet girl she became years later. At the end I pitied her though, because she never truthfully got someone who’s close to her. The important persons she managed to get close to were “made” to be this way, instead of being “real”. But I’m happy that in the end she understood what she did wrong.

I feel like books which emphasise on relationships, most-importantly, parental relationships, should be more read and known. These sorts of books, in my opinion, provide important messages that should be shared with everyone. Stirling is a breath of fresh air in literature, and I really cannot wait to read more from her.

Rating: 4/5 😻

 

💋💖
Mel

Leave a Reply

