Medaka Box | Anime Review

[This anime was reviewed during “May Movies & Manga” but was watched in early April]

What It Is About

The plot follows Medaka Kurokami, a charismatic and attractive first-year Hakoniwa Academy student who is elected Student Council President with 98% of the vote. She institutes a suggestion box, and with the help with her childhood friend Zenkichi Hitoyoshi, addresses these requests in her unconventional manner. (from wikipedia)

My Thoughts About It

Well well well… Where do I start? I discovered Medaka Box in another video on youtube (I forgot which one, but I think it was about the most powerful protagonists or something like that) and since then I wanted to know what it was about. Naturally, I searched and found it on my android application and I then proceed to watch it.

The anime is not a long one as it consists of 12 episodes (much like Noragami) so I watched all of them in a day.

It wasn’t what I’d thought it’d be like.

When you watch a bit of something on youtube, in this case, a battle from an anime, you tend to form your own opinion on what the anime must be like. I did not expect the main setting of the anime to be a school. Actually, I did not know what I was expecting, but I’m sure that it wasn’t… that.

The anime follows Medaka as she solves the requests put in the suggestion box by other students, using very… unique ways. Medaka looks like a typical flawless superhero. She is loyal to herself and courageous, all the while being loved and respected (and also feared) by everyone. She also manages to surprise me, acting differently depending on the request she’s on and sometimes being straight-up… weird.

While there wasn’t as much action as I originally thought there’d be, I enjoyed the humour and the nice tone of the anime, and it greatly made me laugh. I thought the final contrasted greatly with the other episodes in general, yet it was interesting enough for me to keep on watching.

On the overall it was okay, and I plan on watching the second season later this month.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐/5

💋💖
Mel

Leave a Reply

