Attack on Titan | Anime Review

[I watched this anime during April but I’m now reviewing for this “mangaic” month]

I’m sure you’ve all heard this anime title at least one time in your life. (…maybe?)  Well, I discovered it on youtube while surfing and, man, this is so… wow.

What It Is About

Several hundred years ago, humans were nearly exterminated by Titans. Titans are typically several stories tall, seem to have no intelligence, devour human beings and, worst of all, seem to do it for the pleasure rather than as a food source. A small percentage of humanity survived by walling themselves in a city protected by extremely high walls, even taller than the biggest Titans. Flash forward to the present and the city has not seen a Titan in over 100 years. Teenage boy Eren and his foster sister Mikasa witness something horrific as the city walls are destroyed by a Colossal Titan that appears out of thin air. As the smaller Titans flood the city, the two kids watch in horror as their mother is murdered and eaten. Eren vows that he will exterminate every single Titan and take revenge for all of mankind.


 

My Thoughts About It

This is by far one of the most original anime I’ve ever watched. The plot is so unique that watching it is like moving on a foreign land, but a foreign land you’ll actually love to discover.

What I really love about this show is the main character is not flawless. He’s kind of like Naruto, and here I mean that he trains hard in order to fulfill his goal (like Naruto wants to be the hokage, Eren wants to kill all titans); but rather here it’s his foster sister Mikasa who’s like the real badass in here. Seriously, she’s so strong and protective over Eren that it is (most of the time) creepy. Eren makes mistakes and learn from them, and while he always does his best he doesn’t always win. (Mikasa does steal the spotlight though, at multiples times).

But what made me want to know more about this anime, besides all the hype surrounding it, that is, is the ending of the first episode. I cried. I frickin’ cried. I cried so much. I remember hitting the pause button and staring at my screen and moaning’ “no, no, no, no…” as if I could do something about it. (and then I realised that I’m so weak because this was only THE FIRST DAMN EPISODE???)

Yeah, I think you can get what I mean. The thing is, it is that exact scene which sets the tone for the next episodes, and it was so damn amazing. It’s actually the type of anime that shows you how cruel life is. There’s no escaping or sugar-coating it. It’s the way it is. And that’s it.

And just when I thought that it couldn’t be more sad and horrible, the deaths never stop… Oh hell they do! They just break you bit by bit until your heart is in pieces but you still ask for more. And almost each episode got me like,

(even though I didn’t cry after the first episode, and I was strangely proud of my myself!)

To resume it all, yes, you will certainly be heartbroken after each episode, but trust me, it’s worth it. But if you cannot bear watching violent or gory animes, or even TV series and movies, then I’ll encourage you to not watch it, Attack on Titan being very… violent and gory. Oh, and here’s something chibi while you’re at it.

Rating: 4.5/5 ⭐

If ever you watch it, do tell me about what you think of Attack on Titan in the comments below! If not, do you plan to start watching it?

💋💖
Mel

 

 

One thought on “Attack on Titan | Anime Review

Leave a Reply

