The Reader Problems Tag

Thank you Michelle at The Writing Hufflepuff for nominating me! (and I’m sorry I’m doing this only now ^^’ ) Please check out her blog ❤ For this tag I’m going to answer to a bunch of questions! Here we go!

“You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?”

I hope never to reach 20,000 books in my TBR pile! As to how to decide what to read next, it depends on what I’m in the mood for. If my previous read has been a fantasy one, I’m more likely to pick up another fantasy book; but I may also pick up a book in another genre or on my reading list. Whichever book I feel more like reading right now.

“You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?”

That depends. If I’m reading a book I don’t like but I want to know the ending (or the explanation to something that happened etc.) I’ll make an effort and finish it. But if it’s a book I don’t like and I don’t care about what’s going to happen, then I’ll quit. But I usually quit the book when the first chapters don’t drag me in… ^^’

“The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your Goodreads challenge. Do you quit or commit?”

Once again, it depends. If there are only a few books to read, then I’ll finish my challenge. If I see that I can’t because there are so many books to catch up on, then I’ll read comics, graphic novels and/or manga. I just like finishing my goodreads challenge. Hehehe…

I like finishing my challenges... I feel accomplished ;)
I like finishing my challenges… I feel accomplished 😉

“The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?”

Hmmm… That’s tough. Do I cope? Nope.

But I try to live with it. Right now my Heroes of Olympus series is mismatched. And I hate it. But then I have this goal of buying all the books in the same pretty edition, so that’s okay. My ASOIAF books are also not of the same edition, the 1st book is black, book 2-4 are of the pretty UK landscapy edition, whereas book 5 is a ginormous mass market paperback. Books 1-4 are of the same height, so you do not really notice they are different, but book 5… I may just buy it again…

“Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?”

So there’s this book and everyone loves it. Everyone, but you, that is. My reaction?

 That pretty sums it up. It’s okay that people have different opinions about different books; that’s what makes the reading community diverse. And I like it. And you’re always find someone who has the same opinion as you 😉

“You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?”

I don’t like becoming an emotional wreck. Even when I’m at home watching a movie with my mom, I don’t like crying in front of her. I just… don’t like it.  So whenever that happens at home I take a cushion and hide my face in it. And in the theater I’m grateful it’s dark so that no one notices me.

But when I’m alone at home I cry really loudly (because, hey I’m alone and no one can judge me). As to reading, and crying in public…. I’ll pretend something entered in my eye and trying desperately to remove it. Or close the book, take a deep breath and stare in the distance with a blank mind. Usually the last one works.

“A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?”

I hate it when it happens, but I’ll never skip the sequel. If it’s a hardcopy, I’ll flipped the pages and read bits and pieces to refresh my memory. If it’s an ebook, I’ll skip to all the bookmarks and highlights I did in it. One of the solutions I usually use is find a summary on any website or read a spoilery review. That way I’ll remember it better. Re-reading is the last resort (unless it’s a book I really enjoyed)

“You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?”

You see, I was one of those people who didn’t mind lending out her books to people I knew really well. One day, I lent my copy of Catching Fire to one of my best bookish friends. Long short story, three months later my books was wet and unread when returned to me. Why unread? My friend had the nerve of asking for my birthday copy of Catching Fire to then tell me, “I don’t like The Hunger Games, it’s too violent.” (understand it as -I am a fan of Miley how dare that Jennifer makes a move on Liam but I’ll just say that I don’t like her no one will never know my real motive muahaha) But she sure enjoyed reading about medieval methods of torture, describing them as “interesting” and about Fifty Shades of Grey where the female protagonist is basically sexually abused through a whole trilogy.

Had that stopped me from lending out books? *sighs* no. I still lent books but to only one person until a few months ago, and now I don’t do it anymore. I only give recommendations.

As to answer to the question, I don’t know of any way to politely say “nope”, but I’ll just answer that I don’t lend out my books. Would you lend out your baby? Well, I thought so too 😉

“You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?”

I hate reading slumps. A few months ago, I was in one, and how annoying it was! My solution is to go do something else. I usually go watch animes or TV series or movies until I feel like I’m ready to dive into the world of books once again. It’s always a win.

“There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?”

How I would have loved to tell you that I buy all of them! But I can’t… 😥 I usually buy the sequels of the books I read, and maybe standalones, but never firsts in series. I usually wait for the sequels to come out and then I buy/read them so that I won’t have to wait a whole year to know more (there are some exceptions, such as Sarah J Maas and Rick Riordan. I’ll read anything they’ll write!) My strategy is so nice lol

“After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?”

If it’s a book I’m dying to read, then I’ll start it ASAP. If it’s a book that I’m not dying to read, then it’ll wait a bit. It also depends on whether it’s a book in a series, or on how thick it is, or if a sequel is on the way. But as long as I own the book, I’m not in a hurry to read it. It’s not as if it’ll escape, right?

So here you have it! Answering the questions were so much fun, and I liked putting up some Jennifer Lawrence GIFs for you guys 😉 I’m going to tag anyone who wants to do this ❤ yay!

Until next time!

signature

 

Leave a Reply

