Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic | Anime Review

As I’ve recently made a few changes about my blog, I’ve also decided to make a few changes concerning the way I write my posts too. One of these changes is that, now, each post will have a featured image (I think it’s prettier that way). Now about anime reviews, they’ll be divided into 3 parts;

  1. The synopsis part, What it is about,
  2. The review part, My thoughts about it,
  3. And a final part where I’ll briefly talk about the Original Soundtrack of the anime, Why I listen to it.

I hope these changes won’t be confusing! Then, let’s us now talk about this anime!

What It Is About

This story is about the flow of fate and the battle to keep the world on the right path. Aladdin is a boy who has set out to explore the world after being trapped in a room for most of his life. His best friend is a flute with a djinn in it named Ugo. Soon enough, Aladdin discovers he is a Magi, a magician who chooses kings, and he was born to choose kings who will follow the righteous path, battling against those who want to destroy fate. Follow his adventures as he meets others from 1001 Arabian Nights, like Alibaba and Sinbad, and fights to keep the balance of world in check!

 

Number of episodes: 25


My Thoughts About It

The concept, guys, the concept. It’s epic! I’ve yet to watch or read anything related to the Arabian Nights (which is a shame because I love those stories!) but I really enjoyed watching this anime!

And no, he doesn’t always look like that, I swear…!

In the kind-of prologue, we meet Aladdin, who seems lost as he doesn’t know what exactly he is. Aladdin was such an enjoyable character! He’s funny, weird, friendly and at first glance looks like a totally innocent little boy (until you realise he’s a bit of a pervert). He’s also pretty powerful but he’s still learning how to put his power to good use. But at the end, you realise that he’s only a little guy who wants to be friends with everyone, having lived all this time alone with no one else besides Ugo, a djinn, to talk to. So, in short, I found him sooo endearing… 😉

Alibaba was such an interesting character. He also has his bunch of secrets and is the type of person who, besides having friends, prefers to find the solutions to his own problems by himself when he could ask for help. I like how we get to know his past in the second story arc of the anime. It’s also during this arc that we meet other characters who managed to impress me greatly (*coughs* Sinbad *coughs*) and about whom I’m very interested to know more.

10228199
*claps*

On the overall this anime is all about mythology, adventure, magic, humour and of course, it’s not very long so it’s easier to watch  it compared to other beasts like Naruto and One Piece. I find the way they explain what magic is and how they  “show” it very interesting. Of course there’s the concept of “good” and “bad” but the representation of magic  itself (here, rukh) is so… pretty and mystical and glorious . The way the arabian nights are explored is also so… “innovative” (?) and it’s for  those various reasons (in addition to other ones) that I’m now off to watch the second season of this glorious  anime because I’m so curious to know what is going to happen next.

Rating: 4.5 stars


Why I Listen To It

So it’s actually my first time writing about an anime’s ost, so I’ll do my best 😉

[I don’t own any of the links and videos here]

I’ve always been a fan of arabian-like music. I don’t know if this makes much sense, but I find that the way their music enchants you is totally fascinating and wonderful. This OST is like that. It’s a mixture of typical arabian music with some modern and classical touches. The composer for this album is Shiro Sagisu. Let’s give this man a cookie, now, shall we?

magi
The tracklist of the album! I just added it to iTunes and I’m slowly going through it! And… the titles are in french!

 

Take this pretty for example. I mean, come on, this music is so badass! The perfect battle song for this particular anime, when you can here what makes it so distinctive of the anime setting. Genius!

This one is pretty amazing too! Man, I can’t find words enough to describe how I love those songs enough! Let’s just listen to a last one now, shall we?

This is my one favourite! Kyaaaa! (the track at 55:33)

So that is it for today! I hope you enjoyed this new version of my anime reviews!

See you soon!

signature

One thought on “Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic | Anime Review

Leave a Reply

