Miss Mabel’s School for Girls by Katie Cross (ARC) | Book Review

Thank you netgalley for providing me a copy in exchange of a honest review!

~~~

Synopsis:

Never underestimate the power of a determined witch.

Letum Wood is a forest of fog and deadfall, home to the quietly famous Miss Mabel’s School for Girls, a place where young witches learn the art of magic.

Sixteen-year-old Bianca Monroe has inherited a deadly curse. Determined to break free before it kills her, she enrolls in the respected school to confront the cunning witch who cast the curse: Miss Mabel.

Bianca finds herself faced with dark magic she didn’t expect, with lessons more dangerous than she could have ever imagined. Will Bianca have the courage to save herself from the curse, or will Miss Mabel’s sinister plan be too powerful?

Miss Mabel’s School for Girls is the first novel in The Network Series, an exciting new fantasy collection. A gripping tale about the struggle to survive, it will take you to a new place and time, one you’ll never want to leave.

goodreadsbook depository


 

Rating: 4.5 cats

Review:

I loved this book! It was one of the most fascinating and surprising I’ve read so far this year. It has everything I like in a good book: magic, mystery, friendship, suspense, a down-to-earth and determined main character and an amazing, powerful and scary villain.

I thoroughly enjoyed the writing style and the way the author made you discover this world through Bianca’s eyes. Letum Wood is a very fascinating place, full of magic and mysteries but I would have loved to know more about it. I mean, sure, we get to know about the Network system a bit at a moment but I would have found more interesting to know more about the country in general. Then again, from the ending, I feel that I’ll know more in the sequel.

I loved the plot. At first it gave off a “HP and he Goblet of Fire” vibe, which wasn’t necessarily bad, but I couldn’t understand how it was going to fill the whole plot when the story was advancing so quickly. But then after the 30% mark, the story became much more interesting that I couldn’t bring myself to close the kindle app. It was so full of suspense and mystery and there were so many things that I hadn’t seen coming I was left in a major “whutt-whutt-whutt” state. Yea. I was mindblown. A lot of times. And I enjoyed it.

Bianca, the main character, was fabulous. Gosh, so fabulous. There wasn’t one time when I was mad at her or when I wanted to facepalm her (yea, I don’t know if you can say that but I say it anyway #DealWithIt). She was so coherent and cool and collected and she thought about everything so fast… She was so responsible and knew exactly why she was doing whatever she was doing. She was such an amazing heroine and I loved her to pieces. I’m also very curious as to what she’ll do next following the ending of the first book. Things gonna be tougher!

As to Miss Mabel… I FREAKING LOVED HER SO MUCH! .I mean, sure, she’s the villain who finally appears after reading at least 30% of the book. She beautiful, cunning, manipulative and most of her time is smiling and thus scary as hell. But I couldn’t helped but be in awe in front of so much coolness and amazingness! Everything she does is calculated, and she always has the upperhand in everything, even over Bianca. Sure, she did things I wanted to strangle her for, but she did them with such easiness that you’re like, she can’t be real. Especially after dropping such a bomb at the end (that I unfortunately saw coming that didn’t affect me anyway) and just escaping like that.

10228202 And she’s always like, “come at me bro” (but appears less crazy than Azula), at the same time making you hate, fear and respect her. Gosh, I wouldn’t want someone like that as my enemy!

 

So that is it for this review! I hope you enjoyed it, and if ever you’ve read this book tell me your thoughts about it in the comments below!

signature

3 thoughts on “Miss Mabel’s School for Girls by Katie Cross (ARC) | Book Review

Leave a Reply

