Bookish Discussion: Reading Challenges

First things first: my friend and I made a tumblr! So it only has a picture on it right now but we are planning to write a story from different characters’ POV so if you could check it out and follow it it would mean the world to us! (and we also follow back 😉 ) Click here to visit us ❤

How it looks :p I'm so proud *sniff sniff* picture credits: my friend Riya
How it looks :p I’m so proud *sniff sniff*
picture credits (on tumblr, not screenshot): my friend Riya

 

Long short story: this two past months I didn’t follow my reading challenges. At all. I made this TBR jar where each and every unread book I own is on a piece of paper, so that I could pick up a piece at least once a week and diminish my unread pile. What happened? I think that after my “May Manga” challenge… I forgot everything about TBR jars and pieces of paper. And now I’ve realised that I only have one “free month” because university starts in August and I don’t know if I’ll have that much time to read at my leisure. That’s why I’m reading a lot right now. And I already have quite a pile of books to finish until the end of the month;

  • My re-read of Crown of Midnight for the ToGReadathon (join me! Details here)
  • At least three e-arcs to read and review
  • I Was Here for the Curious Book Geeks instagram bookclub (I couldn’t read last month’s book so this time I’m determined to read this month’s book!)
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling
  • Torn, as well as Ascend, the second and third book in the Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking
  • Looking for Alaska by John Green (that I must finish this time)
  • Beautiful Dead 1: Jonas by Eden Maguire (that has been sitting on my shelf for the past 2 years)

and maybe two or three volumes of manga that I know will just pop-up like that in my goodreads challenge.

It’s not that I’m late for my goodreads challenge. In fact, I think that I’m at 72 books ahead of schedule (thanks to you, #MayManga!). But while I destroyed my goodreads challenge, I’m now late for the Popsugar Reading Challenge. (read about it here) True, I have some months left before the end of the year so I think I should be able to finish it, but there are so many books that have been on my TBR for ever and that I must read as well!

On another hand, reading challenges are mostly done for fun. So maybe I shouldn’t stressed on it as much as I do…? Anyway, what about you? Do you have reading challenges? Or do you just read for fun? Tell me in the comments below!

signature

8 thoughts on “Bookish Discussion: Reading Challenges

  1. I really just read for fun. I looked at the Popsugar challenge the other day and without planning for it was able to almost cross all of them off (there’s maybe 5 left), some of which aren’t possible for me to do. E.g. a book you were supposed to read in school, but didn’t. I was probably the only one that actually read all the assigned books, so yea. Or a book set in my hometown; those just don’t exists, and ones from my country I have read.
    As I already read quite diverse books, I don’t really feel the need to do any reading challenges, as that’s mostly what they focus on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I do reading challenges because I’m a bit competitive, but now I just want to read for fun so maybe I’ll stop stressing on doing them now. And I also don’t know what to read for “book set in my hometown” because I’m sure there’s not even a book set in my country ^^’

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is the first year I have set myself the Goodreads challenge, and I’m ahead already. But challenges for reading are just fun and to keep the motivation up and reading slumps away. If you don’t meet the challenges, it doesn’t really matter, as long as you still enjoy the books.
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

