Quick Book Reviews!

Hello there! Today I’m gonna talk briefly about some books I’ve read last month but that I did not reviewed here because… I kind of forgot about it o.o’ but never fear! Here I am with a quick book reviews post!

note: all arcs have been given by netgalley in exchange of a honest review

Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye by Tania del Rio (note:cover not final)

 Synopsis:

Meet Warren the 13th, a cursed 12-year-old Victorian bellhop who’s terribly unlucky . . . yet perpetually optimistic, hard-working, and curious. Orphan Warren’s pride and joy is his family’s hotel, but he’s been miserable ever since his evil Aunt Anaconda took over the management. Anaconda believes a mysterious treasure known as the All-Seeing Eye is hidden somewhere on the grounds, and she’ll do anything to find it. If Warren wants to preserve his family’s legacy, he’ll need to find the treasure first—if the hotel’s many strange and wacky guests don’t beat him to it! This middle-grade adventure features gorgeous two-color illustrations on every page and a lavish two-column Victorian design that will pull young readers into a spooky and delightful mystery.

book depository — goodreads linked to cover

*expected publication: 24 November 2015


Rating: 3.5 cats

Review:

This was one fun middle-grade book!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was fun and fast-paced and always kept me on edge, as I was always discovering new elements and trying to put the pieces together to solve the puzzle. The author did a real great job with the writing, the setting and the plot. I loved the atmosphere of mystery and magic… Everything was so well put together!

Warren is not your typical hero, and by that I mean that heros, typically, don’t have a toadface. But see, it’s this detail that makes all the difference and thus makes it more appealing. He has it hard. He’s the only one who works in the whole hotel, so as to say that he does everything, his aunt is one heck of a friggin annoying hag, his uncle is a lazy loser, and besides his tutor and the cook, he has no friends. Yep. Our Warren has it hard. But I love how throughout the book he meets and bonds with new people.

The other characters were so nice and fun too (I liked Beatrice and her cards) and t was very enjoyable to read about them.

But my favourite character, surprisingly, was Anaconda. She was the perfect middle-grade villain: creepy, weird, determined (but alas! Not very bright), manipulative… You name it! Among all of these characters she is the only one who I really, really love because it’s so rare to see villains like that today! (Aaah, I miss watching movies like that!) I mean, in today’s books villains are… villains. Not stupid-and-childish villains but cruel-and-bloody villains… Also this a middle-grade book so the cruel-and-bloody category shouldn’t be here but still…
What I mean to say is that sometimes, you need a fun, light and mysterious read like that, where friendships are formed and discoveries are made.

p.s: I’m also dying to see what the finished copy with the wonderful illustrations will look like!



Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne, edited by Stacy King and Crystal Chan

Synopsis:

A powerful tale of forbidden love, shame, and revenge comes to life in Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter. Faithfully adapted by Crystal Chan from the original novel, this new edition features stunning artwork by SunNeko Lee (Manga Classics: Les Miserables) which will give old and new readers alike a fresh insight into the Nathaniel Hawthorne’s tragic saga of Puritan America.

Manga Classics editions feature classic stories, faithfully adapted and illustrated in manga style, and available in both hardcover and softcover editions.

Proudly presented by UDON Entertainment and Morpheus Publishing.

book depository — goodreads linked to cover


Rating: 3.5 cats

Review:

I’ve heard of this book, but without knowing what it was about; so my knowledge of the actual classic is prone to zero. Having said that, I thus cannot draw any comparisons between this shortened version and the original classic.

As usual, the art was astounding. I loved the illustrations and how they conveyed the story with so much simplicity yet so much feelings. It is simply amazing how illustrations can make the reading experience more enjoyable and simpler. especially for those who do not like to read classics, or just to read. 5/5 stars for this.

Now about the story. I’m sure there are people who love this classic. Well… I don’t. I saw the ending coming from miles away.(unfortunately, because I wanted to be wrong somehow) I predicted a lot of things happening, and they did happen. The characters were a bit… extreme in my opinion. Heck, I know the story is supposed to be from long long ago but how can people be so short-minded and stupid and… arrrghhh. As much as I loved the illustrations, I found myself not really liking the story. I think this classic is simply not for me. 2/5 stars for the story.

On the overall this edition is stunning and I really cannot wait to read more from this collection!



Manga Classics: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, edited by Crystal Chan and Stacy King

Synopsis:

Great Expectations has it all: romance, mystery, comedy, and unforgettable characters woven through a gripping rags-to-riches tale. Naive Pip, creepy Miss Haversham, beautifully cold Estella, terrifying Abel Magwitch, and the rest of Dicken’s fantastic cast are perfectly envisioned in this new adaptation in this 300-plus page volume featuring artwork by artist Nokman Poon. Manga Classics editions feature classic stories, faithfully adapted and illustrated in manga style, and available in both hardcover and softcover editions. Proudly presented by UDON Entertainment and Morpheus Publishing.

book depository — goodreads linked to cover


Rating: 3 cats

Review:

So… I didn’t enjoy this classic as much as I enjoyed the other ones. It’s not specifically this edition, I just didn’t like the story or any of the characters; I did not connect to Pip as much as I wanted to, and I didn’t like his mindset. Even though he does redeem himself in a way in the end, I couldn’t bring myself to like him or to enjoy reading about him.

On the other, the illustrations were amazing as always, and the only reason I felt like giving this book 3 stars instead of 2 is because of this particular reason.

It’s just that this classic wasn’t for me.

(actually I want to rant a lot about it but I’m thinking of doing a post where I’ll be ranting about books I didn’t enjoy so… be prepared :p )

And there you have it! Here are some quick reviews about some of the books I’ve read last month 🙂 I hope you enjoyed reading this post! All the best

signature

2 thoughts on “Quick Book Reviews!

Leave a Reply

