The Magisterium by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare | Book Review

Synopsis:

Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.

Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.

All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.

So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.

Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.

The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . .

From the remarkable imaginations of bestselling authors Holly Black and Cassandra Clare comes a heart-stopping, mind-blowing, pulse-pounding plunge into the magical unknown.

book depository | amazon


Rating: 4 cats

[note: I’ve read this book last year, before reading Harry Potter for the first time, this is why I wrote that little intro]

Review:

First off, I’d like to say that I’ve actually never read anything by Cassandra Clare or Holly Black. So I didn’t know what to expect, and I thought it was better that way. And the main reason I’ve been picking up this book is because of all of the hype on booktube. Second, I (still) haven’t read any Harry Potter books, so I won’t do any comparisons. You’ve been warned.

I clearly did not expect anything out of this book. Like I mentioned earlier, I only read it to know what it was all about. And it really surprised me. The writing is flawless. While reading you are not aware of what time it is or what you are supposed to do, you only know one thing: what is going to happen next. And that prevents you from doing anything else.

The world is fascinating. While it was not in an another dimension or alternate reality, it really was intriguing and made me really curious about it. The fact that another world and our own co-exist is rather cool, though it is not a new concept, but I loved the sound of it, especially with this setting.

And, that plot twist. Can we talk about it one second, please? There are books that you read when you know what is going to happen and what certain characters are destined to become aftewards. Whereas in The Iron Trial, that was not the case, at all. Which was surprising. And marvellous. Man, more people should do that! I was so convinced that that character was going to be it that discovering another “destiny” for that character was… I mean, I was… speechless (well, in fact I was yelling “plot twist, oh my god, plot twiiiiist!!!” in the living room and my mom became mad at me but that’s not the point). The point is, that book’s really well written. With a lot of unexpected things coming up.

-even though I couldn’t really picture a lot of things, like how Master Rufus does look like, or that I would have liked some more background information about the war or anything related to their history in general, and I really don’t like the fact that their magic is related to the elements. I feel that it’s like a restriction to the story. (that’s my opinion, you are free to think otherwise)-

Now, to those who have read the book, could we please discuss something, like the prophecy for example? [view the spoiler at your own risk] (view spoiler)

Now please tell me someone read that book because I really feel the need to discuss… things. Lots of things. You’ll know what I’m talking about if you read my spoiler.

signature

6 thoughts on “The Magisterium by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare | Book Review

  1. If you loved this one, then you should definitely check out more of Cassie Clare’s works!! The Infernal Devices Trilogy and The Mortal Instruments Series are the bomb dot com ❤️ it would consume a lot of your time but they’re definitely worth it x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

