DanMachi | Anime Review

Look at me. I was supposed to watch two other animes and read two books, and in the middle of watching and reading them, I binge-watch another series. I am hopeless. *le sighs*

……

but I don’t regret it…. kekekekekeke

The original title is, “Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou Ka”, translated to “Is it wrong to try to pick up girls in a Dungeon?” It’s a rather long title that’s why I chose to write “DanMachi” 😉

What It Is About

Commonly known as the “Dungeon,” the city of Orario possesses a huge labyrinth in the underground. Its strange name attracts excitement, illusions of honor, and hopes of romance with a pretty girl. In this city of dreams and desires, new adventurer Bell Cranel has his fateful encounter with the tiny Goddess Hestia.

Thus begins the story of a boy striving to become the best adventurer and a lonely goddess searching for followers both working together to fulfill their goals.

Number of episodes: 13

Light novel: ongoing

Manga: ongoing


My Thoughts About It

While I was youtubing I came across videos where they were mentioning animes coming out in summer. That’s where I saw DanMachi for the first time.

Let’s spit it out; when I saw that they were comparing it to Sword Art Online… That made me not want to watch it. Don’t get me wrong; I have nothing against SAO, it’s just… not my cup of it. And maybe I form part of these people who enjoyed the second season more than the first one.

I still don’t know how come I came to watch it. I think it was a fluke. A very, very nice fluke.

The art is amazing. It’s lively and colourful, and attracts you more than you can think. I loved it a lot.

So… The story turned out to be very different from what I originally thought. And what were my original thoughts? Well, people playing a video game… Much like SAO. But it is NOTHING like that. And I couldn’t be happier.

The “what it is about” section says pretty much everything, so I’m not going to write it again in a different wording (because that’ll be kind of stupid… right?) The first episode starts right off the bait: you jump head first into the atmosphere, and you kind of wonder, “What the heck is happening here?” (well, this was my first thought anyway). But as the episode progresses, you come to know more about everything in general: the world, the situation, who is who, what is what and etc. I found the story pretty refreshing, even though when I put up adventurer, goddess and dungeon together, I don’t why but I thought of Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic. (I wrote a review about it here!) Their plots are not similar, so forget about me and my weird thoughts 😉

Bell, the main male protagonist, is such a nice and refreshing main character! He is strong, determined, funny, caring, protective… I thought he was a nice change from stubborn and perverted main characters (*coughs coughs* Natsu *coughs coughs* Meliodas). But in the first episode you know right away that he is someone “special” (not going to say much because… spoilers!), a fact which is confirmed by the last episode of this first season. Even though that (and the fact that he is unaware of this himself), from episode to episode you can see him trying again and again and doing everything he can to be one of the bests. So yes, he’s special, but makes it up for being human and hardworking. And also being a weird guy in the romance department and girls falling for him while he is a little oblivious to them as he has his eyes set on someone else, and also not being perverted (quite the opposite, he seems to reject the notion of…  perviness. Now that’s a great guy!)

Hestia, on the other hand, was so fun. She doesn’t fit the image of goddess, and that’s amazing. (Well, neither does Loki, so…). She’s funny, overly-protective over Bell, cute… You may say the one complain I had about her (and when you think of it, about many of the female protagonists) is that she has huge boobies. Well, said like that, it’s really weird. But what I mean is that this anime may be well-known not because of the story but mostly because of Hestia, aka Loli Big-Boobs. (Loli designing short people) And I have a big issue with that. (hey, that could be a nice post) Returning to the review, I think that Hestia is really entertaining. I mean, even when she’s jealous gets possessive over Bell (with him not wanting any of it) she’s so funny to watch!

The plot in itself is rather entertaining, even though right now I cannot see where it’s going to end. The story’s really nice, and being a sucker for nice battles, I was rather pleased by what I got. Also, this anime is not all about dungeon-exploring and romance, but has a lot about friendship and acceptance. So yes, I really enjoyed watching this anime!

Rating: 4 stars


Why I Listen To It

There are going to be two albums, and while the first one has already been released, I’m expecting the second one more, because it’ll have all the battle music that I love.

danmachi

The first album has 28 tracks (that you can’t see it all) and is more fun to listen. It’s the type of songs you’ll put behind everyday scenes or funny moments. And while it isn’t what I really dig(I’m more of a battle themes girl), I really enjoy listening to this album.

The second OST will be out on September 30!

So that was it for today’s review! I really enjoyed writing it and was happy to do so because it’s been a while since the last time I reviewed an anime! (for this I blame my laziness 😛 ) See you soon with more bookish posts!

signature

Leave a Reply

