Mel Recommends!… Best of 2014 Reads

It’s time for some recommendations! This time I’m recommending books that I’ve read and loved last year ❤ Let’s jump right in!

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors.   Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles.   Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.   From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect.  Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.  1. Legend by Marie Lu (first book in the Legend trilogy)

Genre/s: dystopia, romance, young adult

 Aboutpolitical intrigue, murder, action

My rating: 5 cats

I read this book on a whim. It wasn’t because I saw this everywhere or everyone talked about it. Picking it up was probably due to its gorgeous cover. I remember starting it at six in the afternoon, some time like that, and I couldn’t put it down. This book kept me reading all night, while I was dreading the inevitable. The writing’s engrossing, the characters are amazing, and the plot and world-building are really well constructed. And on the plus side, no love triangle! So yes, people. Read this book!

book depository

2. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas (first book in the Throne of Glass series)

Genre/s: fantasy, romance, mystery

About: magic, a badass main character, a love triangle

My rating: 5 cats

This one book, I read it because of all the hype surrounding it, especially on booktube. And I’ve never been so happy to do so! The writing’s compelling, the plot intriguing, and the character development throughout the rest of the series is amazing! Words cannot express enough the love that I have for this series! It’s just one of the best books I’ve ever read, even if I’m not a fan of love triangles. And if ever you don’t enjoy the first one? I’ll tell you to keep reading, because the sequels are even better!

book depository

3. Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan

 Genre/s: fantasy, mythology, humour

 About: retellings of greek myths, a healthy dose of humour, more Percy!

 My Rating: 5 cats

This book was one of my most anticipated releases last year. I remember downloading it as soon as it was out, and being delighted about the magnificent illustrations.  Right now I’m waiting for the US paperback release, which I think is scheduled for next year, because the paperback will then a normal size. Well… I think.
What I really like about this book is that you don’t have to read any previous Percy Jackson or Heroes of Olympus books before enjoying that book. I mean, there are some references but which are very minim (or maybe no references at all? I’m sorry I forgot about that). Most importantly it’s a book which tells the story of the Olympian Gods, but with so much humour that you’ll have to laugh at least once while reading.

book depository

4. Not in the Script by Amy Finnegan

Genre/s: contemporary, romance, chick-lit

About: the world of Hollywood, attraction at first sight, fluffiness

My Rating: 4 cats

This book has a story. But a story I’ll tell another day. To make it brief, the author sent me her book, which was signed, along with some swag. It was the first time that I had ever been sent a free signed book and some book swag. I never get book swags! Let alone signed books! So this book is my treasure, with what I hope will be a benediction for other signed books to come. So I thought that I could read and review it on my goodreads, because this was the time when I started to post less on blogspot.
Not in the Script is a very nice and adorable contemporary. I’m not a big contemporary reader but this one was really enjoyable. What I liked the most is the fact that it talks about Hollywood, which made me want to know more about this industry and how it works.
So if ever you want to read something light and funny, I strongly recommend you to read this book.

book depository

 5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

 Genre/s: young adult, fiction, contemporary

 About: a socially awkward main character, life, (heck I’m sorry I can’t seem to find a third word to try to describe it)

 My Rating: 4.5 cats

 I remember picking this one up because my friend was just recently done with it and she loved it. And I really trust her opinion on books so I thought that this could be real good. And I was right. I cannot really talk a lot about it without rambling like an idiot but this book’ definitely should be considered like a modern classic. You can feel what Charlie, the main character, is going through and as the story enfold you can understand him better and after you’re done with this book you realise that, in a way, you’ll never see things the same way. So yes. Jump onto that train. Please.

 book depository

So that was it for these recommendations! Have you read any of these books? What have you thought of them? Do tell me in the comments below!

signature

4 thoughts on “Mel Recommends!… Best of 2014 Reads

  1. I love these recomendations. I’ve heard a lot of good things about the Legend series so I think it’s something I’m going to have to head out and pick up one day. I’ve also heard a lot of people talking about Throne of Glass and it’s been on my book radar for a while. I think next time I’m out shopping I’m going to need to pick a few of these up – thanks for the list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

