Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works | Anime Review

Yaay! Finally! I’ve finally decided to watch the last episodes and, holy shit, I’m so happy I did!

What It Is About 

Raised by a mysterious sorcerer after the horrific death of his parents, Shiro Emiya has only just begun to help others using the small tidbits of magic that he’s learned. However, when he’s suddenly caught in a battle between two more powerful Magus, Shiro finds himself performing a spell above his expected ability, summoning the beautiful spirit warrior Saber to protect him! But safety is only momentary as Shiro and Saber now find themselves thrust into in a secret world of dark magic and deadly challenges: a no-holds barred duel to the death known as the Holy Grail War! At stake: a prize of unimaginable power. But can the inexperienced Shiro and Saber survive long enough to even enter the contest? First they’ll have to withstand waves of treachery and assassination, even as Shiro scrambles to learn everything he’ll need to know to stay alive as seven teams of Magus and Spirit Servants face off in mortal combat!

Number of episodes: 25 (spread into 2 seasons)

Manga: 20 volumes


My Thoughts About It

First, I’m sorry if I wasn’t very active on the blogosphere, but I had a very busy week, and I’m trying to find my own rhythm with my lectures, my social medias, my reading, and of course, my blog. I think that this is going to take a little time so please bear with me! 😉

What to say about it? This anime was very interesting and fascinating. I first came across it through my brother, who watched the first route of Fate/Stay Night. Then I saw this second route on recommendations videos and best battles videos, and I was like, “I need to watch it.” I finally watched the last episodes during the weekend last week, and was nicely surprised.

First, even if you are not going to enjoy the plot or the characters, you’ll have to admit that the art is amazing. I’ve never seen an anime with such a refined and wonderful art, making the anime more interesting to watch. Everything, from the characters to the wildlife, was brilliantly animated and I have nothing against the animation as a whole.

Now to the actual anime. If you are a sucker for epic battles (like me), then you’ll be more than satisfied. This anime has the right dose of action and you never really feel lost in the story. Yes, you have to follow it in order to understand it better but honestly, I was here mostly for the battles. I was not deceived, heck no. I discovered that with the equation “Magnificent Animation + Epic Battle = an Overload of Epicness”.

As to the story itself, even if I found it a bit boring, I can assure you that the pace quickens in the last episodes of the first season until the second season. I’m telling you this because the best is to come, and the plot becomes more complicated after the first arcs in the first season, which has one of the best cliffhangers I have ever seen. I feel that the plot was really well-written, and there are twists which I did not see coming. There’s blood, people die, you’ll maybe get into a denial stage (because I was. Totally.), shocking twists and revelations. Even a satisfying but very not-interesting and calm conclusion. (I’m only saying this because I did not like it) You’ll cry, you’ll laugh, you’ll be mad… But if you want to watch an anime full of action with a quite original plot, then I strongly encourage you to check it out.

The main character, Shirou Emiya, was a bit annoying. He’s the type of guy who wants to save everyone and he’s very naive, even having a strong belief in the idea of becoming a hero of justice. But he goes through some character development and does redeem himself (for me at least) a bit, which I find satisfactory. Tohsaka is amazing. She’s cool and collected and is down to earth. She also goes through some character development and I like how she forms an unlikely duo with Shirou. And as I’m bad with spoilers, I’ll stop talking about the characters right there. 😉

I’ve yet to download and listen to the soundtrack so I won’t write my third section today, but based on what I’ve heard in the anime, the OST is pretty good. So thumbs up for a nice epic OST!

So that is it for today’s post! I promise to finish at least one book soon and to review it so watch out for a new book review, and more tags posts! Love you all!

signature

2 thoughts on “Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works | Anime Review

Leave a Reply

