I Followed the Rules by Joanna Bolouri (ARC)| Book Review

FINALLY! I FINISHED A BOOK PEOPLE! IN YOUR FACE, LAZINESS!!!

Also, thank you netgalley for providing me a copy in exchange of a honest review.

Synopsis:

Rule 1: Never ask him on a first date. Rule 2: Laugh admiringly at all his jokes. Rule 3: Always leave him wanting more.

. . . wtf?!

Have you heard of The Rules of Engagement? It’s a book that promises to teach you to find the man of your dreams in ten easy steps. Unsurprisingly, I don’t own a copy. What is it, 1892?

But I’m a journalist, and I’ve promised to follow it to the letter and write about the results. Nevermind that my friends think I’m insane, I’m stalking men all over town and can’t keep my mouth shut at the best of times.

My name is Cat Buchanan. I’m thirty-six years old and live with my daughter in Glasgow. I’ve been single for six years, but that’s about to change. After all, I’m on a deadline.

I Followed the Rules and this is what happened.

book depository | amazon


 

Rating: 4.5 cats

Review:

This book was an amazing ride. I don’t read a lot of contemporaries and romance books; it’s not that they aren’t my cup of tea but I’m more interested into other genres. But this time I’m so happy that I requested this book to change my reading habit a bit! Because it was absolutely amazing!

I first fell in love with the author’s writing style.

“Oh, before you go, Uncle Adam farted in the living room and it smelled like doom.”

And there’s more.

“Your boobs are massive. Will I have the same ones when I’m older?”

“Well, you’ll have your own boobs, but not these exact ones; they’re not heirlooms. Now go and play for ten minutes.”

And the book is filled with other hilarious quotes that I couldn’t help but highlight, and by the time you’re done, you would find yourself with a whole highlighted book 😀 Trust me!

The plot was very well detailed and engaging. Never have I laughed that much while reading, (I mean, yes, there’s Rick Riordan, but… The genres are not the same I mean PJ is not a contemporary and…) and each page will not fail to crack you up! I loved reading about Cat and her adventure with The Rules of Engagement! She’s so realistic and down to earth, and it was such a pleasant change to read about a single mother than about a teenager and her sometimes magical problems! I think that we need more books like this with such diverse characters, because the YA market is rapidly being full of teenage main protagonists, which is nice, but… Not every reader is 17 and necessarily wants the main character to be relatable.

I feel like I’m going out of the main point here, sorry. The thing is, this book was so funny and light and interesting and romantic. There were certain things I saw coming but that didn’t affect the pleasure I had while eating this e-copy up. Yes, some things were predictable, but hey, that means that we do follow the plot well 😉 There were diverse characters and I love how the author portrayed them.

It was a fast and light read that I really enjoyed and I really hope to read more from this promising author very soon!

I hope you enjoyed this review! What about you? Do you plan to give this book a try or nope? Do tell me in the comments below! See you very soon!

signature - new

5 thoughts on “I Followed the Rules by Joanna Bolouri (ARC)| Book Review

Leave a Reply

