Aldnoah Zero | Anime Review

First and foremost I do apologise for the lack of activity on the blog and on the blogosphere in general… I’m trying to find my own pace in the hectic life that is University and right now it’s not very fruitful… But I’m sure that I’ll find my own rhythm soon and then start again to shower you with posts, likes and comments 😀

~~~

Well… It wasn’t that bad… :3

What It Is About

In 1972, the Apollo 17 mission found a hypergate to Mars on the surface of the moon. Upon landing, astronauts discovered an enchanted utility later referred to as “Aldnoah,” giving the astronauts a status of superiority. Soon, many humans have relocated to Mars, and have adapted to the name “Martians.” After Princess Asseylum, a royal Martian princess, descends onto Earth in an attempt to create a treaty between both planets, a war breaks out between Earth and Mars, and Martian soldiers begin to descend from the sky, riding steel giants, intent on exterminating humanity.

Episodes: 24 (spread onto 2 seasons)

Manga: ongoing


My Thoughts About It

This anime truly blew me away. It really wasn’t what I was expecting. At all.

This anime here is a mecha. Mechas are anime which involve robots. A lot of robots. As such, they didn’t particularly appealed to me (I had my dose with the Transformers movies. And my brother strongly emphasized on the fact that mechas aren’t awesome.) But I wanted to give this one a try, first, to form my own opinion, and second, because I fell in love with the OST. [Original Sound Track]

I don’t watch a lot of “futuristic/sci-fi” anime, but I was pleasantly surprised by this anime. The plot, the background story, the characters… It was such a breath of fresh air for me!

The characters’ development were very interesting to watch, especially Slaine Troyard’s. Throughout the whole 24 episodes you see how he remains loyal to Princess Asseylum while changing drastically. He’s actually one of the most fascinating (I just didn’t want to write interesting again teehee) characters in the anime and while he made me feel many things (many, many things O.O) I think that he’s the one who had to go through more, and how he adapted to the situation and took everything in control was so damn great.

Inaho remains one of my favourite characters. He’s the silent super-intelligent guy who can’t take a hint about simple things, but hey, that does make him adorable 🙂 He goes through less character development but he compensates this fact by being a genius badass who’s freaking awesome, and I feel that it’s okay. But I would have appreciated if we came to know more about his background, like with Slaine and Lt. Marito.

Now, Lt. Marito, so far, is my favourite supporting character. He’s the type of guy who drinks a lot of alcohol to drown his traumatic past as a soldier in the first war between Mars and Earth and who is so kakkoii (cool). I love how we his past unfolds gradually with each episode until he is faced with only two choices: accept what he has done or get drown in his remorse. Awesome.

In my opinion, the best girl character was Yuki, Inaho’s big sister. You can see how she is concerned by her brother’s safety and how she does everything for him. Seriously, she deserves the award for being the best sister ever.

I feel like my review is not very detailed but I’m trying my best not to spoil you about even the minor details. I’m just going to tell you something; if ever you watch the first 12 episodes, don’t wait to watch the 13th. Trust me. If you can, watch them all in a row. But don’t make a gigantic break between episodes 12 and 13. If you can, that’s fine. But otherwise, don’t. Just… Don’t.


Why I Listen To It

Only one name: Hiroyuki Sawano. If you have read some of my previous anime reviews where I talked about the music, then you must know how much I admire this man and his work in the anime soundtrack industry. This man is a pure genius. Seriously. It was also part thanks to him that I came to know about this anime.

az ost

Even if you won’t watch this anime, at least check out the soundtrack. It’s amazing. ❤

So that was it! I hope you enjoyed reading my little review 🙂 I promise to post more soon! Love you all ❤

signature - new

One thought on “Aldnoah Zero | Anime Review

Leave a Reply

