Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

*if you haven’t read the previous books in this series, then I strongly suggest you not to read this review, because I assure you that you’ll be spoiled. And that would be… awful.*

QoS review banner

sypnosis

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world. (from goodreads)

amazon | book depository


rating 5 cats

 

review

How do I start this book without fangirling like a crazy person? Honestly, I don’t know. So I’ll try to be as coherent as possible.

This book was amazing and mind blowing. Honestly. It was everything I was expecting, and more. Oh, heck! So much more than I was expecting!

Celaena – or should I say Aelin now? – has changed so much from the first book, Throne of Glass! Now she is so much more mature and badass – not that she was not already like that, but you can see that her character has developed so much from the beginning of this series. Darn, how can I put this? It’s as if she is another person, all the while being the same one. Well, I’m confusing myself now O.o

“She was a whirling cloud of death, a queen of shadows, and these men were already carrion.”

So much has happened to her while she was in Wendlyn that, now that she’s back… Well… Things are going to go down. And I loved it. She now thinks as a queen for the best of her kingdom, and does everything she can to free her people. And the way she does it…? Mind blowing. She is not the little assassin who only cared for herself anymore, she is now the Queen who is going to get back her kingdom at any cost, and it was beautiful. *sniff sniff*

Chaol was the one who I really, really wanted to love as much as in the first books but I couldn’t. I understand what he is going through (well, not really, but I was trying!); I mean, his best friend is in some deep shit, he expected some big ass help from Wendlyn, and Adarlan became much, much darker. So yea, I could understand his behaviour but to some extent. Otherwise… man, he really annoyed me. And the thing is that, I really, really loved him and him and Celaena were my OTP and everything but now… *sigh* my ship has sunk, friends!

“Her scent hit him. For a second, he could only breathe it deep into his lungs,his Fae instincts roaring that this was his family, this was his queen, this was Aelin. He would have known her even if he were blind. Even if there was another scent entwined with hers. Staggeringly powerful and ancient and—male. Interesting.”

Oh God, the Aelin and Aedion reunion guys! It was everything and amazing and just as expected. It was glorious. One of my favourite moments in this gigantic book. I really love Aedion in this book, and more possibly more than I did in the previous one. He was so protective of Aelin and nice and they both fit each other so well! And seriously, him and Rowan together? What could I ask for more? Did I mention that Rowan is in this book as well? Because he is! Rowan came back guys! oh my freaking goodness! As you can tell, it was so much more than pure and sheer satisfaction 😉 I like how we see Aedion and Rowan working together, even though their relationship started out a bit rocky… But as the story progresses I couldn’t ask for a better BROTP!

Have I talked about Lysandra? Sweet Badass and amazing Lysandra? Yes? No? She. Was. Fantastic. She did redeemed herself from her behaviour in The Assassin’s Blade, but how could I have imagined that she was such an interesting character? Now I understand better why Sarah was excited for us to (re) discover Lysandra.

“You and I are nothing but wild beasts wearing human skins.”

Also, I kind of ship her and Aedion. But the ship can wait. There are so many things that need to happen first.

But the character who was the most painful to read about was Dorian. OH MY POOR BABY DORIAN WHAT HAVE THEY DONE TO YOU???

“I was not supposed to love you. The woman had said that—and then she died. She should not have loved him, and he should not have dared to love her. He deserved this darkness, and once the invisible boundary shattered and the waiting thing pounced, infiltrating and filling him … he’d have earned it.”

It was very sad and painful and I sometimes I had to close my book and take a break because; we all know what happened to him by the end of Heir of Fire. But still… Seeing him like that… It was horrible.

I feel like I am going to drag this review on and on but they are still loads of things for me to talk about, so please bear with me!

I really liked Elide’s introduction. I don’t know about you, but since I was done with Heir of Fire I have always wondered what happened to her (because we all know what happened to her mother) and whether or not she has survived. And even though her character is not at all how I have imagined her to be, I really like how she was presented. And even though I know many people did not really enjoy reading about her, I did like her. A lot actually.

Another part of the plot I loved? The witches. I did not initially warmed up to them in Heir of Fire but now I am really excited to see how their story is going to turn out. Also, I really, really want to see more Crochan. (I mean, besides the one who was taken as prisoner in the previous book). Please tell me they are not nature lovers who sings with crown of flowers on their heads! Please tell me they are badass women who can do more than pose as wise women! I really want the Crochan to be as badass as the Ironteeth!

Okay, enough about the characters. For now at least. Do you remember one of my previous I SHIP IT! post? The one where I talk about Aelin and Rowan and how I consider them a BROTP? (It’s here!) Well… Consider this post void and null. Because now, there’s no greater OTP than this one.

“She wondered whether the queen knew. Rowan did. Aedion did. And Arobynn did. He had understood that with Rowan, she was no longer afraid of him; with Rowan, Arobynn was now utterly unnecessary. Irrelevant.”

While I was sceptic about their pairing, now I feel like they are meant for each other; both of them having lost someone dear to them and feeling broken. But I am also curious to see how this is going to play in the future books.

Also, the plot. It was interesting and full of surprises; Maas always succeeding to blow me away. And while the ending was not a cliffhanger, I do feel like the ending is a trap. I am sure that book 5 is going to break my heart (I hope not, but we never know) but I sincerely hope that she is not going to kill anyone. Besides the naughty guys I mean. Because, seriously? I have had my dose of good people dying.

I think this review was not as reviewing as I’d thought it’d be… But, oh well, what can I say? This book was fantastic 😀

What about you? Have you read Queen of Shadows? What are your thoughts about it? Tell me in the comments below!

signature - new

9 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

  1. Loved this book! Everything you said was basically my thoughts too. Although as much as I love Rowaelin I think their platonic relationship was better, I guess Aedion took Rowan’s place on that regard as her protector and friend, but idk I think I liked them better that way and its not just because I still think Dorian is endgame for her lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh and as for Chaol lol I always knew that ship would sink, it was way too early , which is another reason why I’m practically certain Rowan and Aelin won’t stay romantic, it came too early. We got a little taste of her and Dorian in book one and they’ll reunite in the last book (:

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

