Treasure Darkly by Jordan Elizabeth | Book Review

TReasure darkly

sypnosis

Seventeen-year-old Clark Treasure assumes the drink he stole off the captain is absinthe… until the chemicals in the liquid give him the ability to awaken the dead.

A great invention for creating perfect soldiers, yes, but Clark wants to live as a miner, not a slave to the army—or the deceased. On the run, Clark turns to his estranged, mining tycoon father for help. The Treasures welcome Clark with open arms, so he jumps at the chance to help them protect their ranch against Senator Horan, a man who hates anyone more powerful than he.

Sixteen-year-old Amethyst Treasure loathes the idea of spending the summer away from her bustling city life to rot on her father’s ranch, but when a handsome young man shows up claiming to be her secret half-brother, her curiosity is piqued. He’s clever, street smart, and has no qualms jumping into the brawl between the Treasures and Horans. Caught in the middle, Horan kidnaps Amethyst, and all she gets is this lousy bullet through her heart.

When Clark brings her back to life, however, the real action starts, and Amethyst joins him in his fight against the Horan clan—whatever the cost. Defeating the Horans may seem easy at first, but going up against men with the same fighting vengeance as Clark, and a Senator with power he’s obtained by brainwashing the masses?

Well, Amethyst’s boring summer at home has turned into an adventure on the run, chock full of intrigue, danger, love, and a mysterious boy named Clark.

from goodreads

amazon


rating

3.5 cats

review

First and foremost, I’d like to thank the author for providing me with an e-copy of her novel in exchange of an honest review. This didn’t alter my opinion in any way; all my thoughts are my own!

I really like steampunk fiction. I don’t say it a lot, I don’t even read a lot of this genre, but when I do, I always find myself loving the setting and the story. It’s one of the most fascinating genres I have read about. Treasure Darkly was no exception. I loved the setting of the story, which took place in steampunk-far west scenery, with guns and engines. What can I say besides that I love how the author managed to mix these two fascinating worlds altogether?

The plot was very original, but in my opinion not fully developed. I have so many unanswered questions, like, what is the Senator planning? We don’t really see him in the book, and if he’s the real villain, I think we should as well understand his motivations. Also, in the beginning, it seems to drag on and on, and we don’t see much action after the 48% mark or something like that. I really wanted more action and adventure, as well as more background information on the world in which the story is taking place. Some events happened so quickly that I couldn’t really grasp what was happening, and there are so many things I want to know more about. Nevertheless, it really is an intriguing story that I enjoyed reading about.

While I really liked Clark, I think I am torn concerning Amethyst. Do I like her? Do I stand her? Honestly, I do not know myself. Sometimes (well, most of the time) she acted like an annoying and whiny brat while at other times she looked understanding and kind. I am really confused about what to think about her, but I can already say that I do not like her that much. Clark, on the opposite, was such a nice guy. At a point I really put myself into his shoes and found out that he reacts more rationally than I do! He has so much going on and he is able to do it all like a champion. Gosh, Clark, I really, really like you!

Did I mention how much I love the swear words in this book? Bloody gears, they are amazing!

On the whole, it was a very enjoyable read and I really want to know how everything is going to turn out, so I am quite excited to get my hands on the sequel!

 

What about you? Do you plan to read the book? Tell me in the comments below!

signature - new

One thought on “Treasure Darkly by Jordan Elizabeth | Book Review

Leave a Reply

