Past Lives Revealed by Desy Smith | Book Review

-I have a review about the first book here! Also, this is the second book in the series, so if you haven’t read the first one, then don’t read this review as it might contain spoilers!

-Also, I’d like to thank the author for giving me a copy in exchange of a honest review! That didn’t in any way alter my opinion!

-Re-also… I failed my featured image. I tried, but… It’s one hell of an epic fail… Can you tell?

sypnosis

Carmel’s time at the H.O.T hasn’t been all that pleasant. She’s gotten drugged, captured, and had to endure her painful change. When Carmel finally starts to enjoy her life at the H.O.T with her friends and her boyfriend Devon; Queen Ice, her annoying past life, contacts her. Queen Ice not only tells her about the impending battle between the good angels and the evil angels, she also continues to pop up in Carmel’s mind, showing her images from her life in the past. Now, Carmel, her friends along with her boyfriend, race to find a sword that they believe will give them leverage in the battle to come.

Unfortunately it isn’t as easy as it seems. There are others who are aware of the sword, and they’ll do anything to retrieve it before Carmel does. In addition, Carmel can’t use her Water or Ice Talent to help in the battle and she doesn’t know why! On top of that, there’s one or more people in Carmel’s group who aren’t whom they say they are. Can Carmel find the sword? Will she be able to figure out why her Talents aren’t working? Can she discover who in the group is lying to her and the others about who they really are?

amazon


rating

3.5 cats

review

This sequel was certainly more enjoyable than the first one!

While this one started as a bit slow, it certainly didn’t drag on! The story quickly picks up and you are thrown into an adventurous quest to stop the end of the world. I think I already said it in my review of the first book, but one of the forte of this series is the plot, because it is by far one of the most originals I’ve ever read. And I say this as someone who is not a great fan of angels’ literature. I tried, but I could never bring myself to finish something with angels in it. On the opposite, The Talented twists angels into something completely new and nice that makes you really curious.

While I adore the concept, I feel like this book has one major drawback: the writing. In my opinion, the writing is too plain. It has the right amount of descriptions but the descriptions themselves are rather… plain. Not in the sense that, for example, the scene described is plain, but rather, it is the way it is described. There should be more… expressions, more adjectives, more “flowery language”… By making the writing more appealing, this would make the reading more alive and thus, more enjoyable.

On the other hand, I love the fact that there are diverse characters in this book; Afro-Caribbean, Caucasian… There is a great ethnic diversity in this book and this is something that modern YA is lacking, and I think that this is really a great point to it. I also really enjoyed the use of multiple PoVs in certain chapters, specifically that of Queen Ice. We actually learned about the past and what led to these specific events, and I found it very interesting.

The characters were very interesting to read about, even if sometimes it was a little bit confusing to read mostly everything from Carmel’s point of view. But as you read on, you find that you are quickly attaching yourself (maybe too much?) to the characters. I particularly loved Ricky in this sequel. And if you read this book as well… You may guess why 😉

Also, that last chapter was open to so many suggestions… And if I understood it right… Does it mean what I think it means? Anyway, I am so darn excited to get my hands on the next one in the series! Puh-lease! Give it to me already!

signature - new

Leave a Reply

