Cress by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

cress review

 

sypnosisIn this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow.
Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

amazon | book depository | wordery


rating

5 cats

review

If you thought that Cinder and Scarlet were amazing, they are nothing compared to the rollercoaster that is Cress. Cress is, in my opinion, the best installment in this series so far (I have yet to read Winter so… yeah). It has everything: action, humour, mystery, plot twists, feels and feels… It. Is. Amazing.

The new character you met here is Cress, and though she is certainly less physically kickass, she is endearing in her own way. Even though I love girls who can fight for themselves, it does not burn to see at least one little teenie helpless one looking for her knight in a shiny armour. I love the way she is taken by the beauty of everything she sees (and I find the ways Thorne makes her come back to Earth – both physically and mentally – hilarious!)

“Cress?”
“It’s beautiful out there.”
A hesitation, before, “Could you be more specific?”
“The sky is gorgeous, intense blue color.” She pressed her fingers to the glass and traced the wavy hills on the horizon.
“Oh, good. You’ve really narrowed it down for me.”
“I’m sorry, it’s just…” She tried to stamp down the rush of emotion. “I think we’re in a desert.”
“Cactuses and tumbleweeds?”
“No just a lot of sand. It’s kind of orangish-gold, with hints of pink, and I can see tiny clouds of it floating above the ground, like…like smoke.”
“Piles up in lots of hills?”
“Yes, exactly! And it’s beautiful.”
Thorne snorted. “If this is how you feel about a desert, I can’t wait until you see your first real tree. Your mind will explode.”

Have I mentioned how much I laughed when I reached these?

“An animal?” Thorne said, and she realized he’d been waiting for her to further explain what she was seeing.
“It has long legs and horns and…and it’s beautiful.”
“Oh, good, we’re back to this, then.”

Seriously people. It was so good.

Not only do we discover Cress as a new character but, hello, the plot goes on to! We have Cinder trying to find a way to free the Earth from Levana’s grasp, and the way they proceed is worth all of the pages in this book, trust me.

Yes, there are, again, some plot twists and scenes that I had seen coming, but, man, that didn’t change the way I feel about the book at all. I mean, yeah, it’s like I have some spiritual powers and see everything coming, but it keeps me on the edge nonetheless!… See what I mean?

The characters, here again, go through some development, especially Thorne. Have I mentioned how much I love him? Yes? No? Well… I love Thorne. And even though I think that the ship CressxThrone is overly cute, I don’treally ship them. But, bah! We’ll see how it all plays out in Winter.

The pace was a little bit slower than in the previous books, but I can understand that as it is a 500 pages long book. Nonetheless there were some things which were dragging on and on and were a bit annoying.

Annoying thing that happened in this book is the lack of Scarlet. Seriously. Yes, I know what happens in the beginning, but I think Meyer could still have written a bit more about her besides the first and last chapters, because I was just, so, so worried about her! I cannot wait to find out more in Winter!

And that is it! I truly do not know what to add besides that this book was utterly fantastic and amazing and made me more excited for Winter than ever. I cannot wait for my exams to be over!

What about you? Have you liked Cress? Any thoughts? And please, no spoilers!

signature - new

One thought on “Cress by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

Leave a Reply

