How to be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras | Book Review

sypnosis

An emotional contemporary YA novel about love, loss, and having the courage to chase the life you truly want.

Reeling from her mother’s death, Georgia has a choice: become lost in her own pain, or enjoy life right now, while she still can. She decides to start really living for the first time and makes a list of fifteen ways to be brave – all the things she’s wanted to do but never had the courage to try. As she begins doing the things she’s always been afraid to do – including pursuing her secret crush, she discovers that life doesn’t always go according to plan. Sometimes friendships fall apart and love breaks your heart. But once in a while, the right person shows up just when you need them most – and you learn that you’re stronger and braver than you ever imagined.

amazon | book depository | wordery


 

rating

5 cats

review

Thank you netgalley for giving me a copy in exchange of a honest review!

This book. Man… I don’t really know how to start with this review… and what to write. There are so many emotions all at once and I am so, so confused!

Okay, let’s do it all over again.

This was one of the most heart-wrenching and amazing and sad and funny book I have ever read in a long, long time. I say “long, long time” because I very rarely read contemporaries, and when I do… I cry. Almost everytime. I cannot help it. I am a cry baby like that.

So.

Georgia was an amazing character. She is one of those easy relatable people whom I want to give a perpetual hug to. She is overweight (and I don’t know if the girl on the cover is supposed to be her, but she isn’t Georgia), her mom died, and she’s trying to be more positive and do something for her: a bucket list.

Now I have, if I remember correctly, never read a book with bucket lists. But I think that I will now read more of them. I love how Georgia always thinks positively (which I very rarely do) but the way she copes with her life makes her a very inspirational character that I loved reading about. The romance was so cute! I am not a great fan of romance but this one was really well done and I have to applaud Mrs Kottaras for that.

I initially thought that the book was going down as from the 50-ish mark, but actually it’s when the book gets more “substance”; I mean, now with new issues this book becomes much more than just about a bucket list; it deals with friendship, ties, family and everything in our everyday life. Truly, I think this is where the book becomes so much more than another one normal contemporary.

I feel like I am going to talk nonsense, so I’ll just stop there, even though I feel like I should talk more about this book but do not really know how to write it here. Just… Read this book people. It really is a wonderful piece of literature.

signature - new

Leave a Reply

