The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare | Book Review

Disclaimer: This is the second book in a series, so if you haven’t read the first one, then I strongly suggest you not to read this review as it might contain spoilers!

synopsis

Callum Hunt’s summer break isn’t like other kids’. His closest companion is a Chaos-ridden wolf, Havoc. His father suspects him of being secretly evil. And, of course, most kids aren’t heading back to school in the magical world of the Magisterium . . .

It’s not easy for Call . . . and it gets even harder after he checks out his basement and discovers that his dad might be trying to destroy both him and Havoc.

Call escapes to the Magisterium but things only intensify there. The Alkahest – a copper gauntlet capable of separating certain magicians from their magic – has been stolen. And in their search to discover the culprit, Call and his friends awaken the attention of some very dangerous foes – and get closer to an even more dangerous truth.

As the mysteries of the Magisterium deepen and widen, bestselling authors Holly Black and Cassandra Clare take readers on an extraordinary journey through one boy’s conflict -and a whole world’s fate.

amazon | book depository | wordery


rating

4 cats

review

-I have a review for the first book in this series here!

I read the first book when it first came out last year, and even though I really enjoyed it, I actually forgot most of it and only remembered bits and pieces, as well as the huge bomb the author dropped at us in the last chapters… you know… that Cal is actually Constantine Madden. I really didn’t see that coming, and I loved it.

Back to this one now. First I’d like to say that I love the UK covers better than the US one… for once in my life. I think they are so prettier! *o*

The book picks up some time after the end of the first year. Cal is back home with Havoc and spends his days classifying everything he does in an Evil Overlord list. I understand partly why he would want to do that. I mean, he just discovered that he is the Enemy of Death and the Makar is his best friend so it’s normal that everything has changed for him now. On the other hand, while he could stop at some point, he did it practically throughout the book and at some point; I was fed up with him. Yes, you have found out that you are not who you thought you were but that’s not a reason to think that you are supposed to be evil! It was you but now you are not the same person! And it bugged me that he took his time to find that out.

What I like in this sequel is that it has this cloud of mystery as from the beginning. I enjoy reading a well-written mysterious plot and I must admit that this one was really well done. The suspense was on point and the turn of events was delightful to read about.

There was a part which was reminiscent of Harry Potter – those who read it maybe will know what I am talking about, and I thought that it screamed too much “REFERENCE”! Otherwise the rest of the plot was original and kept me on the edge. I thought that the story unfolded too quickly – too many things happened in too little time and, while it wasn’t confusing, I found that it made everything too rushed.

Jasper was the character that was the most surprising in this sequel. Even though at the beginning I really didn’t like him a bit, as the story progresses he became less of an idiot and I even came to like him a little. I honestly cannot wait to read his character development in the future books.

As to our free heroes, I enjoyed reading about them. The most interesting of the three was Aaron. He is still secretive about his family and pre-magisterium life, which I think can have a very interesting development in the other books, and has a drastic change of lifestyle since discovering he is the Makar. Other the course of the book I felt that he is gradually changing to become… I don’t know… darker? Nonetheless I am very interested to know more about his character development in the future books and to see where his character will go.

I love how Cal was all “I don’t want any of this shit” whenever something related to his… “past self” happened but he was in a way to deal with it. Especially with all that jazz concerning Master Joseph. I’ll stop talking about him because otherwise I will start spoiling you but, besides his obsessions with Evil Overlord lists, I greatly enjoyed reading about Cal.

Tamara was okay. I did not warm up to her in the first book and in this sequel, well… She has redeemed herself a bit. I also realised that I didn’t take any notes on her so… whoops ^^’

On the overall, The Copper Gauntlet was a very quick and enjoyable read, and I recommend this series to everyone!

signature - new

Leave a Reply

