The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil | Book Review

synopsis

Alba loves her life just as it is. She loves living behind the bakery and waking up in a cloud of sugar and cinnamon. She loves drawing comics and watching bad TV with her friends. The only problem is she’s overlooked a few teeny details. Like, the guy she thought long gone has unexpectedly reappeared. And the boy who has been her best friend since forever has suddenly gone off the rails. Even her latest comic book creation is misbehaving. Also, the world might be ending– which is proving to be awkward. As doomsday enthusiasts flock to idyllic Eden Valley, Albas life is thrown into chaos. Whatever happens next, its the end of the world as she knows it. But when it comes to figuring out her heart, Armageddon might turn out to be the least of her problems.

 

amazon | book depository | wordery


rating

4 cats

review

Thank you netgalley for providing me a copy in exchange of a honest review!

The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl was not at all like I thought it would be. And honestly? It was for the best.

I won’t lie, I expected some science-fiction twist based on the cover and the title, not forgetting from the synopsis too. I didn’t get it, but it doesn’t mean that I was disappointed. I loved each page read on my kindle app.

Alba is a wonderful character and narrator. Everything was described very vividly, and I could easily imagine the sights and smells she described. She was such an amazing character and I could easily relate to some of her struggles; moreover, she seems to be soreal.

Grady was such a sweetheart! I love the relationship he shared with Alba and the way it blossomed, and I can’t say more because otherwise I’ll spoil everything!

The writing was fresh and easy to read, it wasn’t too extraordinary; I mean, it wasn’t too complicated or too poetic, but it was right in the middle. Something I really enjoy.

Sure, this review is going to be brief because there are so many things I could talk about but I don’t want to, or I would spoil you. All I can say is that you should really give this book a try, you won’t be disappointed!

signature - new

Leave a Reply

