Alice takes back Wonderland by David D. Hammons | Book Review

synopsis

After ten years of being told she can’t tell the difference between real life and a fairy tale, Alice finally stops believing in Wonderland. So when the White Rabbit shows up at her house, Alice thinks she’s going crazy.

Only when the White Rabbit kicks her down the rabbit hole does Alice realize that the magical land she visited as a child is real.

But all is not well in Wonderland.

The Ace of Spades has taken over Wonderland and is systematically dismantling all that makes it wonderful. Plain is replacing wondrous, logical is replacing magical, and reason is destroying madness. Alice decides she must help the Mad Hatter and all those fighting to keep Wonderland wonderful.

But how can she face such danger when she is just a girl?

Alice must journey across the stars to unite an army. She discovers that fairy tales are real in the magical world beyond the rabbit hole. But they are not the fairy tales she knows.

Fairy tales have dangers and adventures of their own, and Alice must overcome the trials of these old stories if she wants to unite the lands against Ace.

With the help of Peter Pan, Pinocchio, Snow White and heroes old and new, Alice may have the strength to take back Wonderland.


rating

4 cats

review

Thank you netgalley for providing me a copy in exchange of a honest review!

This book had one of the most original plot I’ve ever read about. I mean, sure, I have read fairy tales retellings, and I am starting to grow fond of them, but they have never turned out like this one. Alice takes back Wonderland was one of the most freshest read I’ve had, and while it didn’t start as good as I thought it’d be, the plot development quickly compensated for it.

Personally, I found that the beginning was rather slow, and I found pre-Alice-back-in-wonderland rather pitiful. Having returned from Wonderland as a child, she has since been perceived as “crazy” and is forced to take pills in order to overcome her “delusions”. Except her said delusions weren’t delusions. They were real. But after Alice came back to Wonderland, let’s say that I warmed up more and more to her character and struggles, and I really enjoyed reading from her perspective.

I first thought that this book was going to be centered on Wonderland. Well, it looks like I was wrong. Rather, this book talks about diverse fairy tales’ worlds, and while for a few chapters I was disappointed to have seen not a lot about this “new” Wonderland, I really like what the author did with the other fairy tales, and I guess that is what made the book so original and interesting to read about.

The world building was fascinating, as well as the twisted tales, and I was more than enchanted to find out that they were also some myths included. I am a sucker for everything mythology, so… 😛

I also loved the way the romance blossomed, and I can also say that I have smelled it for pages, but nevertheless that didn’t stop me from loving it all.

On the overall, this read was amazing and enjoyable, and if you like fairy tales retellings? Well, you should absolutely try this one out. It’s amazing. I swear.

Also, I ❤ this cover so dang much! Isn’t it so pretty?

And that is it guys? Are you going to try this book out? Tell me in the comments below!

signature - new

 

 

One thought on “Alice takes back Wonderland by David D. Hammons | Book Review

Leave a Reply

