Winter by Marissa Meyer | (short) Book Review

synopsis13206900
Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?


rating

4.5 cats

review

I have a review for each book in the series and Fairest too, so you can check them out if you want to!

Well… This was one hell of an epic finale.

This book was a rollercoaster of emotions. It follows up to the ending of Cress, and I love the fact that there isn’t really a long time between the events of the two books.

God, I am not even getting started and I already don’t know what to write in this review. Well… Going to keep it short then.

I liked Winter’s portrayal. Jacin and Winter’s romance? Not as wonderful as I’d thought it’d be, but it was okay. I liked the fact that Winter was hella strong in the sense that, in a way, she played everyone and fooled them all into thinking that she was a weak and undeserving creature. But… I liked her, okay? I liked how she always wanted to have friends (by the way I loved her friendship with Scarlet) and she was courageous everytime her illusions caught up to her… Also, she doesn’t seem like it but she is indeed intelligent and thinks before acting.

Jacin was… Well, I thought he was meh. His devotion to Winter was indeed very well-written but as a character… Well, he was meh.

I loved how the plot unfolded. For once, there were a bunch of things that I didn’t see coming; and you know what? I loved it all! This book was definitely well-written, and even though it has a lot of pages, this fact doesn’t undermine the quality of the plot and of the writing style.

I loved how Cinder’s and Kai’s romance was written. It was beautiful and magical and wonderful and… *sigh* Also, Cress and Thorne? The. Best. Thing. Ever. Scarlet and Wolf’s was so painful to watch because… because obviously, spoilers, but… Aww… It made my heart ache for them 😦

The only thing that maybe didn’t sit well with me is that, like CressWinter is more plot-driven than character-driven. This may be due to the fact that this series has a lot of characters but still, there were moments when there were moments when there wasn’t enough of Scarlet, or Wolf, or even Cress and Winter. I am not saying that’s bad, but I like to know what’s happening to my characters, and the fact that she wrote more about some than others… Well, I really didn’t agree to that.

But on the overall I think that it was a great conclusion and every character deserved what they got, so yea, I am happy 🙂 I now cannot wait for the new novellas in Stars Above! *squeals excitedly*

How about you? How did you find Winter? Are you satisfied with the conclusion? Tell me all in the comments below!

signature - new

11 thoughts on “Winter by Marissa Meyer | (short) Book Review

  1. I absolutely loved the way she ended the series! I myself tried to post about it and found myself lost for words haha. I appreciate that it was ended in true fairy tale fashion. But what is Stars Above???”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

