Flawed by Cecelia Ahern | Book Review

synopsis

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society in which obedience is paramount and rebellion is punished. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

*Notes: This book will be out on the 5th April! Go pre order it now!


 

rating

4.5 cats

review

Thank you netgalley for giving me a copy in exchange of a honest review!

(goodreads reading update 17 Dec) It’s 03:20, I am so hungry my stomach’s turning into a volcano and I was supposed to sleep since 4 hours ago. But what have I done instead? I read the whole freaking book. I think this confession is pretty self-explanatory.

This review may be slightly biased because I may still be obsessed with the story. I have never read anything by Cecelia Ahern before today. And now I wish I had. *grabs Love, Rosie* I swear that I will read more from her!
While the whole idea of branding people because they have done something which they weren’t supposed to do is not really original (Branded by Abi Ketner anyone?), I really enjoyed the whole world building. It was new without really being new, because it looked a lot like the cities we all know without actually being them. Ugh… I am confusing myself now. But I loved the setting.

I mentioned early that the idea of branding people wasn’t new. But the reason behind the branding is… it’s more than extreme, people. It’s cruel, downright cruel. It’s unfair and more than it, illogical. It revolted me. And I think that the author made it purposefully, because, from that moment, I was in the book at an emotional level that I don’t like. I don’t like being invested very very emotionally in a movie or a book, because I know myself, and I know that I will cry. Well, it happened. I cried. The descriptions were so vivid that I could feel, see and smell whatever Celestine was doing. It was so, so wrong. And twisted. And so many other things. Well, at least I can say that Ahern got me emotionally. Damn it!

While I didn’t enjoy Celestine from the beginning – she was too logical, too much of a walking dictionary, and as annoying as a plastic toy; not that I have anything against plastic toys – when this particular thing happened to her… Well, I felt that she became more sympathetic. More understanding. More human. She doesn’t want to look like a martyr. She doesn’t people to be using her to make a revolution. (hmmm, Hunger Games much?) She just wants to live her life and be left alone. Unfortunately, things don’t go as planned. They never do now, do they? As I said earlier, the descriptions are very vivid. Well, I am correcting what I said.Everything is vivid. How people treat those who are flawed. The injustice. The lack of respect and tolerance. The absurdity of it all. It broke my heart. It showed human nature at its worst, and it was horrible. Oh, and I cried again. I am emotional like that.

I didn’t really felt the “chemistry” between Celestine and her boyfriend Art. I know that, with everything that happened, romance wasn’t the focus of this book (Amen!!!), but I thought we’ll… You know…? Feel a little of that chemistry. Oh, we did all right. But… I am not complaining, but I wish we’d see Art more in this book. And Carrick! He was such an interesting character, I am very disappointed we’ve got to see him only on the beginning and in the end. I hope we’ll see more of those two in the next book. And I really hope there won’t be any love triangles!

The only complaint I’ve got (and yes, I have one!) is that, at a point, there are too many descriptions. This may be because our MC tends to analyse everything, but I’ll do without the descriptions overload, thank you!

So yes, on the overall? I loved this book! It got my heart and soul, and I am thinking of re-reading it after I am done with my other ARCs. A dozen times maybe. Or more. You are thinking of reading this book? THEN HELL YEAH, DO IT!!!! F*CKING READ IT ONCE IT’LL BE OUT!!! I NEED MORE PEOPLE TO CRY WITH ME!!!

How about you? Have you read one of Cecelia Ahern’s books? Did you like it? Or do you plan to? Tell me all in the comments below!

signature - new

3 thoughts on “Flawed by Cecelia Ahern | Book Review

Leave a Reply

