Seraph of the End: Battle in Nagoya | Anime Review

Note: If you haven’t watched the first season already, then please don’t watch this second season. And don’t read this review either, or else you’ll be spoiled. My review for the first season is here!

What It Is About

Yuuichirou has reunited with Mikaela at the Shinjuku Battle. But Mikaela was turned into a vampire… To save the “family,” and to protect his fellow members, Yuuichirou needed to gain knowledge and power. He searched for ways to bring back vampire to human beings, and at the same time, trained hard working on the Cursed Gear.

Meanwhile, Kureto calls Guren and tells him a shocking truth. That in one month, the main unit of the vampire will start attacking Tokyo. To get a head start against vampires, Kureto orders Guren to go to Nagoya. The noble extermination mission is about to open fire!

No. of episodes: 12


rating

4.5 stars

My Thoughts About It

This season offered much more explanations about the plot and just everything and general, and for that, arigato. Remember how in the last two episodes or so Yuu changed into some black-winged weirdoe? Yeah, confusing much. After that ending I was dying to know what would happen next, and knowing that the manga was not really far into the story, I prefered to wait for this second season, because, honestly, I thought that shit was going to go down. Oh hell it went down! Really, really down!

This second season picks up quickly with the ending of the last episode of the first season. Which prompted me to read the first volumes of the manga before to refresh my memory with what happened. In this second we are more into the war atmosphere, and there’s also much more plot development compared to the first season. The characters are really more friendly with each other *cough cough* Shihou *cough cough* Yuu *cough cough* and as a team, they are more in sync than before.

The whole plot development with Mikaela saving Yuu and Yuu saving Mikaela was really well done, and it made me scare to know what was going to happen with so many variables that at a point I had to read the manga before watching the anime to prepare myself to the whole going-down moment. Nevertheless, everything concerning those two was good and with everything that had happened, I am really excited for the third season.

One major letdown in this season was the whole “I-won’t-let-my-family-die” idea. Hmm, Fairy Tail much? Not that I have anything against Fairy Tail, or this idea, but the fact that it is recycled so much is pretty annoying, so I can do without, thank you very much. I am tired of the whole “we-are-family-and-bla-bla-bla” speech.

I was very scared about the finale because I was reading the manga at the same time, and that last chapter was very… open, and as such I was scared that they would do the same thing to the anime. But thankfully the ending was not a cliffhanger, but with the events in the last episodes or so, I am dying to know more about everything that played out in that last battle. And I really want to read the next chapters, so could you please be released already???

On the overall, it was an action-packed and wonderful second season, which will keep you on the edge of your seat! Really recommended!

To finish this post, here’s some pictures of Shinoa with her scythe, because I love her scythe. And Shinoa. But mostly her scythe.

  

*sniff sniff* isn’t that scythe beautiful?

 

And that’s it for today! Have you watched this second season? What did you think of it? Tell me in the comments below!

signature - new

Leave a Reply

