Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard | Book Review

Ohayo peeps! Today, finally, I have a new review for you! It’s Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard 🙂 I’ve been delaying posting this review mostly because I’m going back to Uni since Monday and I already have a lot of tests to prepare for… Damn you second semester! 😥 Buuuut! On the bright side, I have came up with quite a number of blog posts so…. 🙂

I read Red Queen last week with Tasha and Aubrey for the #RedQueenRA and even though I would have liked more discussions with them, it was one darn fine readalong! Looking forward to do more with you girls! 🙂

Without further delay now, let’s move on to the review!

synopsis22328546

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

rating

This is where I’m confused :/ I am not really sure about the rating so until I am really sure of what to give it…

3 cats

review

Let’s start with the things I liked. I really enjoyed the writing; it’s hooking, visual, full of emotions… It’s what instantly pulled me into the story. The way Aveyard describes the environment made me understand how this is going to be absolutely marvellous as a movie. She really captures the characters’ emotions and you understand what they go pretty well.

The characters were pretty good themselves. Mare as a main character was rather okay, though I did not really like how stubborn and prejudiced she was with the Silvers. Though the Silvers are quite prejudiced themselves with the Reds, so… I think that, as a main character, she could have been better. Okay, so maybe she is going to be one of those people who learns from her mistakes and becomes more badass along the way, so I am still holding hope for her.

As to the two brothers, Cal and Maven, they were each unique and interesting in their own ways. Cal is a soldier to the bone, who thinks of his country rather than power, and I think that he was really well-written. Maven was… oh my god, I couldn’t help but root for him. He is such an amazing multi-layered character! I think that, between the two brothers, he is the one whom I prefer. I think that he is one we should really follow because, well, you will know why if you have read the book.

The plot was interesting but not original. Oppressed people and a revolution? Please, most YAs today has it as their basic plot. Also, this book was reminiscent of other books I have read, namely, Gates of Thread and Stone (which is really good!), Hunger Games and Game of Thrones to name a few. So, am I impressed with the plot? Not really.

As to that plot twist, damn, I am sorry but I saw it coming from a long, long way. Maybe it is because I have read  quite a number of plot twists to the point where I am not surprised anymore, or maybe because THERE HAS BEEN SO MANY CLUES LEFT ALONG THE WAY, PEOPLE! Seriously, if you haven’t been able to guess before that moment what was going to happen, then…

It has been said and said over and over, “Anyone can betray anyone.” Over and over and over and over. Why can’t you wrap it around your head, Mare???

I must admit though, that with this ending, I really want to know what is going to happen. Is everything going to go down? Or…? One thing is sure, I am sure as hell that I am going to read this sequel!

I also rant talk about the plot twist in my goodreads review so you can check this out of you want 🙂 [link]

And… that is it! Have you read Red Queen? Do you plan to? How have you found it? Tell me all in the comments below! See you all soon! Stay awesome!

signature - new

 

 

4 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard | Book Review

  1. Nice review Mel 🙂 I think I’ll wait for reviews for the sequel to appear before deciding if I want to give the series a go. The ‘oppressed people’ plotline really needs to be banished from YA for a few years -_- I’m really over this trope!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really wish we would have had more discussions too, but I am glad we did the read-along together. It was still a ton of fun. I agree. Everything was so guessable in the entire story, and I saw it all coming from so far away. The characters and plot weren’t very unique, but I really liked the writing style. Thanks for the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

