DIY! Wax Crayons Art

Hello guys! Wow, it’s been a while since I have last posted something. The exams are starting next week, so I have been very busy this past month, updating my revision notes and planning my revision sessions with my friends. I don’t know if I’ll be posting stuff this coming month too, knowing it’ll be examination time, but I’ll try to schedule some posts.

Last week, I have tried to do some “wax crayon art” with my cousin. I wanted to do something artsy before the exams could start, knowing I would be busy for nearly a month. It turned out pretty good, so I thought; “why not share it?” 

Ladies and gentlemen, let’s get started!

slow cookerthanksgiving turkey

First, you have to know in what order you are going to arrange your crayons. I have opted for a rainbowy order but it’s totally up to you. Make sure to arrange them carefully on your canva. Next, glue them next to each other on your canva, then let them dry. I have let them dry for 1 hour (mainly because I ate during that time ^^ )

20160423_152323

Next, line your work space with newspapers. Trust me, while melting, wax splatters everywhere, and you don’t want your mom to be mad at you!

20160423_152600

Now use your blow dryer to melt your wax. I’ve put mine on medium primarily because my dad was sleeping so I didn’t want to annoy him, but I then realised that the whole process would have quicker if I had put the temperature on high. I’ve put my blow dryer directly above the crayons, so that the wax would melt easier.

20160423_164657 20160423_165319

Some crayons melted quicker than others, but I don’t really know if it’s because of specific brands or how thin/thick they were. After one hour, mine was done, and I couldn’t be more proud.

20160423_173903

13043325_794292534035931_6273541154477508643_n

Before ending this post, here are some clarifications 🙂

  • You can unwrap your wax crayons before glueing them on your canva. I didn’t because I was a bit too lazy to do so, and I also thought they looked nice in their wrappers.
  • I’ve read somewhere that you must glue them with a hot glue gun (or something similar). I don’t have this at home, so I opted for white glue (the Bostik one) and it did stick great.
  • Also, it’s recommended to use a hot air gun thing to melt your crayons because they then melt so  much quicker than when you use a blow dryer. Again, I don’t own one, which is why I used a blow dryer.

So I think I made things a bit clearer. If you have any question, then don’t hesitate to comment them down below!

Love you all ❤ and see you soon!

signature - new

6 thoughts on “DIY! Wax Crayons Art

Leave a Reply

