The Siren by Kiera Cass | Book Review

146420080023925944385

From Kiera Cass, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series, comes a
captivating stand-alone fantasy romance.

Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who’s everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger . . . but Kahlen can’t bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart?


1464200839314

5 stars

1464200912363

Once upon a time, I picked up The Selection when everyone was talking about it and after a few chapters in, I was confused; people liked that? Okay, maybe I was wrong for judging it so quickly when I was easily 3 chapters in and bored to death. But hey, that was 3 years ago. I don’t read like that anymore. But the fact that I’ve heard more and more people not really liking it did not encourage me to go further with the first book. And then, I became aware of The Siren. Mostly, I fell in love with the cover. I mean, come on! Isn’t the cover the most gorgeous thing ever??? So of course, I had to pre order it.

This book was a surprise. Completely. Before reading it, I saw on instagram that while some liked it, others did not enjoy it. So I was like, “if ever I don’t like it, it’s okay, it has a gorgeous cover anyway.” So for sure, I carefully lowered my expectations for this one. And guess what?…. I was wrong?

This book has been advertised as a romantic one. I am not saying that it isn’t a romantic book but it is so much more than romance! There’s sisterhood, motherly love, self-discovery… So many themes that I did not even think would be in there! At first I thought it was going to be a cheesy, nonsensical and cliché romance with instalove but noooo! (okay, so, in a way there was instalove but I’m going to talk about it later)

Before jumping into some fangirling talk about the themes, let’s talk about the writing. Oh god, it was great *~* I mean, seriously. I was not expecting the writing to be engrossing, especially after reading a bit of The Selection (but then I read like 3 chapters so who am I to judge?). The way the story flowed was amazing and made me read the book in one sitting. It was intriguing and compelling and made me want more.

This book was sisterhood at its best. I loved how they were supportive of each other and how they want to help each other! Their relationship was amazing and cute and wonderful, and I love every bit of it. I mean, even Kahlen, our main character, thought about her sisters above anything else, and I loved it.

Then we have the love of the mother. Let’s talk about the Ocean. She was… how to say it? I liked and disliked Her. I loved how she was protective of her “daughters” but the way she was overprotective and overbearing annoyed me. I mean, I understand that, being who – or rather what – She is, She does not – or cannot…? – have a counterpart, which is why She behaves this way with her “daughters”. But her behaviour at a point drove me insane!

This book was also about self-discovery. Kahlen has been a siren for so long, and yet she still does not know what she really wants. Sure, she has a goal, as average as it sounds – getting married. But it seems that beside that, she does not want much; or more, she does not know what she wants. In this book it’s like she discovers herself a second time – or more like a third time, and I enjoyed reading about that.

The thing that annoyed me though was the instalove. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, there is instalove. *rolls eyes* Maybe what makes it salvageable is

  1. The famous love triangle element critical in all YA stories today is not preset. Hurray!
  2. She fell in love with Akinli with, I think, pretty decent reasons. Mostly because it was as if Akinli was able to see through her “glamour”, that is, the real her and not her generic siren beauty; and Akinli is such a cinnamon roll.

For once in my life, I think that the generic instalove is acceptable in this case, mostly because it is not the only thing the book is about. So yes, I enjoyed this book. A lot.


And that is it! How about you? Have you read The Siren? What did you think about it? Should I give The Selection series a go? Tell me all in the comments below!

See you all soon!

signature new

2 thoughts on “The Siren by Kiera Cass | Book Review

  1. Wow!I totally loved your review.I myself have read this book and I liked it.
    Btw I definitely feel you should give The Selection series a go.It is one of my all time favourites.
    Don’t raise your expectations too high though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

