What this impromptu hiatus taught me

Hello there people of the blogosphere! Gosh, it has been a long time since I have last blogged! I wish I had a made-up excuse but I don’t… Rather, I know why I haven’t blogged but…. Uh…. I’ll explain that in a second.

I thought it would be cheesy as fuck to title this post “Update!” or “Yet another update!” because if you have followed my blog since I have created it you would know that it’s a title that I use a lot. Maybe too much. So I thought, “why not write a post where I write what I did in the meantime, what I have been up too and most importantly, what led to this unplanned hiatus?” So… There it is!

As I mentioned earlier, I did not plan to go on hiatus. Don’t get me wrong, I love blogging and sharing my opinion about pretty much everything on this platform and blogging generally makes me happy. But as I posted and posted, blogging became less fun for me and instead became a chore. I had a schedule of posting at least every two days and at a point it was tiring to come up with new ideas and write about them. There are days where you have virtually no ideas, or when writing does not feel right, or when you just want to do nothing at all. It happens to the best of us. But I needed to be consistent in my schedule and I forced myself to write post after post, even if I felt that some of them were pretty cheap and awful.

That’s when the hiatus started. Or rather, it just happened. Looking back at the “posts” page, I had a number of drafts that needed finishing touches or featured images, but I couldn’t force myself anymore, and finally went away from the whole blogging world. I think I would not have come back at all if it wasn’t for the fact that I was in a blogging group on facebook. Although I did not participate much (rather at all – weirdly I am shy online… Is that a thing? Because I am) I think this group contributed a lot in the fact that I did not want to lose hope in my blog and wanted to go back to it, at some point eventually.

“So”, you must asked yourself, “where is this freaking post going?” Having gone through a “blogging slump” and knowing what was the cause of it – at least for me – here are some pieces of advice that I am going to share with you:

  • Blogging is supposed to be fun, so don’t force yourself. Don’t make strict schedules and then panic when you don’t know what to post about. It’s not what blogging is supposed to be about.
  • It’s okay to be out of ideas. It’s not the end of the world. If you don’t have one today, maybe you’ll have one tomorrow. It’s fine. (also, there are a lot of blog post ideas on Pinterest!)
  • Finally, just be yourself. I have recently discovered that, surprise surprise, my opinions have changed over the years. Not only that, but I have changed as well. And it’s totally okay if people don’t agree with my opinion or I don’t agree with theirs. It’s what makes each of us unique. So don’t be afraid to post about things that make you happy, or to voice out your opinions. After all, it’s your blog. You are the one who decide what to post about.

 

And…. that is it. I plan on posting more now, but I am going to make the same mistake I did last year with schedules and whatnot. I have finally come to terms with the fact I suck at planning, even though I wanted desperately to ace planning and bullet journaling (but I am not giving up on bullet journaling though, it’s looks so cool!). Also, it’s been a long time since I have talked with you guys! I am so happy to be back at stalking reading all of your blog posts!

Until next time! ❤

signature new

8 thoughts on “What this impromptu hiatus taught me

  1. I can so relate to this and totally agree with you! Forcing yourself to stick to a schedule when you don’t want to or unable to follow it just makes blogging a chore which is never fun. I took a really long hiatus last year so I’ve been there ahah. I’m glad you’re back, though! And yesss don’t give up on bullet journalling!! 🙈 It’s so great. (Or it has been for me anyway haha)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I totally understand. I’ve lived it! At some point you just feel like you ‘have to’ write another post and you just start to dislike it. I’m glad you’re back though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

